Skip to main content

Spanish-Language Reference Sources Online or in the Library: A Guide: Reference Sources
in Spanish

A guide to the library's Spanish-language reference dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, and selected major internet resources.

Reference Books in Spanish

General Reference Sources

Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo-americana
Madrid: Espasa-Calpe, [1907?]-1930.
Olin Stacks AE 61 .E56+ - for 1907-1933: v. 1-70

"Often cited as Espasa, the original encyclopedic set is a standard in many large libraries because of its long articles, bibliographies, good illustrations, and maps. It is especially strong in biography and gazetteer information. Espasa can also be used as a language dictionary, giving etymologies and word equivalents in French, Italian, English, German, Portuguese, Catalan, and Esperanto. The encyclopedia is updated by annual supplements (Enciclopedia universal ilustrada europeo americana. Suplemento anual), which began publication in 1934. The original supplements were arranged thematically, not alphabetically." (Guide to Research)

Latinoamericana: Enciclopedia contemporánea de América Latina y el Caribe
Madrid, España: Akal ; [Sao Paulo, SP]: Boitemps; [Buenos Aires?]: Clacso, 2009.
Olin Reference F 1406 .L3618 2009 +

Spanish-Language Reference Books: An Annotated Bibliography
Compiled by Bibliotecas para la Gente, Reference Committee.
Berkeley, CA: Chicano Studies Library Publications Unit, University of California at Berkeley, 1989.
Uris Stacks Z 1035.1 S73+

 

Reference Sources: Art

Diccionario ilustrado de arquitectura: contiene mas de 5.000 vocablos y 7.000 acepciones, voces tecnicas y modismos, 400 ilustraciones y un vocabulario ingles-español con 1.600 palabras
Carlos E. Perez Calvo. Bogota: J. Plazas S., 1979.
Fine Arts Reference NA 31 .P43

El pequeño Larousse ilustrado: edición centenario 2005
Barcelona : Larousse, 2005.
Olin Reference AG 61 .P48 2005

La gestión artístico-cultural y la mujer en España
Mirta Gloria Rodriguez Acero.
Málaga: Servicio de Publicaciones de la Universidad de Málaga, 2008.
Olin Stacks ND 1460 .W65 R63 2008

Modernización y modernismo en el arte mexicano
Fausto Ramirez.
México, D.F.: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Instituto de Investigaciones Estéticas, 2008.
Olin Stacks Oversize N 6554 .R36 2008 +

 

Reference Sources: Citation Style

Manual de estilo Chicago-Deusto.
Adaptación y edición de Javier Torres Ripa.
Bilbao: Universidad de Deusto, 2013.
Olin Reference Z 253 .U6918 2013. Shelved at the Reference desk.
Spanish version of The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition.

 

Reference Sources: History and Biography

Diccionario biográfico español
Jaime Alvar Ezquerra.
50 volumes. Madrid: Real Academia de la Historia, 2009-2013.
Olin Reference CT 1343 .D52 2009 +
The national biography of Spain.

Diccionario Espasa historia de España y América
Jaime Alvar Ezquerra.
Madrid: Espasa, 2002.
Olin Reference DP 56 .D55z 2002+
An excellent dictionary of the major literary figures in Spain, recent (Laura Espido Freire) and historical (Cervantes).

Enciclopedia del español en los Estados Unidos
Humberto Morales.
Madrid: Instituto Cervantes : Español Santillana, 2009.
Olin Stacks Oversize E 184.S75 E566 2009+

Latinoamericana: Enciclopedia contemporánea de América Latina y el Caribe
Emir Sander, et al.
Madrid: Akal; [São Paulo, SP]: Boitempo; [Buenos Aires?]: Clacso, 2009.
Olin Reference F 1406 .L3618 2009

Milenios de México
Humberto Musacchio.
México: Hoja Casa Editorial, 1999. 3 volumes.
Olin Stacks Oversize F 1204 .M955x 1999 +
A dictionary of Mexican history, geography, and society offers information on prominent individuals in all fields, cities, states, and geographical features, Mexico's relations with each country in the world, and other subjects.

Población de los actuales términos municipales, 1900-1981: Poblaciones de hecho según los censos
Library Annex HA 1542 .G21 +

 

Reference Sources: Literature, Theater, Film

Autoras en la historia del teatro español, 1500-1994
Madrid: Publicaciones de la Asociación de Directores de Escena de España, 1996.
Olin Stacks Z 2693.5 .W6 A8x 1996

Bibliografía de la literatura hispánica
José Simón Díaz.
Madrid: C.S.I.C., 1983.
Olin Stacks Z 2691 .S59 1983
Literary histories, collections, anthologies, monographs precede extensive listing of editions, translations and critical studies of individual authors. The work is in progress: as of this writing, vol. 16, continuing coverage of authors of the Siglos de Oro, is the latest received.

Bibliografía general española, siglo XV-2000 [CD-ROM]
Munich: K.G. Saur, 2000.
Olin Reference - Electronic Text Center PQ 6006 .B535 2000
A bibliography of Spanish language titles. Over one million records from the Research Libraries Information Network related to books, periodicals, maps, manuscripts and audiovisual materials from the 15th century to the present.

Cineglos.
Worcester, MA: College of the Holy Cross.
(Online open access)
" ...un glosario audiovisual de terminología cinematográfica diseñado para estudiantes y profesores del cine en español. La mayoría de los términos definidos están acompañados por fragmentos de películas latinoamericanas o españolas que muestran visualmente la técnica cinematográfica referida." [home page]

Convergencias hispánicas: selected proceedings and other essays on Spanish and Latin American literature, film, and linguistics
Elizabeth Scarlett and Howard Wescott.
Newark, DE: Juan de la Cuesta, 2001.
Olin Stacks PQ 6512 .C65x 2001

Diccionario del cine mexicano, 1970-2000
Mario A.Quezada.
México, D.F.: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, 2005.
Olin Reference PN 1993.5 M6 D53 2005
Encyclopedic dictionary that covers 30 years of Mexican film production including works done outside the film industry.

Diccionario de la literatura latinamericana
Pan American Union. Letters section.
Washington: Unión Panamericana [1958- ].
Olin Reference PQ 7081 .P18

Diccionario Espasa literatura española
Jesus Bregante and Carolina Reoyo.
Pozuelo de Alarcón, Madrid: Espasa, 2003.
Olin Reference PQ 6051 .B74 2003

Literatura o imperio: La construcción de las lenguas castellana y catalana en la España renacentista
Vincente Lledo-Guillem.
Newark, DE: Juan de la Cuesta, 2008.
Olin Stacks PC 4081 .L54 2008

Index to Spanish Language Short Stories in Anthologies
Ivan E. Calimano.
Albuquerque, NM: SALALM Secretariat, General Library, University of New Mexico, 1994.
Uris Stacks Oversize Z 1609 .L7 .C35x 1994+

 

Reference Sources: Social Sciences

Diccionario político y social del siglo XX español
Javier Fernández Sebastián, Juan Francisco Fuentes, dirs. Madrid: Alianza Editorial, 2008.
Olin Reference DP 233 .D53 2008

 

Reference Sources: Science

Diccionario de oceanolographia y biologia marina: Castellano-Ingles, Ingles-Castellano = Dictionary of oceanography and marine biology: English-Spanish, Spanish-English
Kenneth Allen Hornack.
Horsham, PA: Editorial Castilla La Vieja, 1999.
Library Annex GC 9 .H67x 1999

Diccionario ingles-español de terminos forestales y silvoindustriales
Victor L. Reyes, et al.
Chillan: Instituto Profesional de Chillan; [Concépcion]: Universidad del Bio-Bio, 1984.
Library Annex SD 126 .D48x 1984

Glosario de terminos technicos agricolas = Glossary of Technical agricultural terms, Spanish-English, English-Spanish
Maria Rosa Sanchez.
Pamplona: Gobierno de Navarra, Departamento de Educación y Cultura, 1988.
Mann Stacks S 411 .P18 1988

Web Accessibility Assistance