Skip to main content

Italian, Continuing and Intermediate: A Library Guide: Finding
Articles

A guide to library resources in Italian language, literature, history, and culture intended for students studying the language.

.

Cercare perodici / articoli

CERCARE PERODICI / ARTICOLI

Periodical Indexes and Abstracts

Periodical indexes identify and locate articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. Periodical indexes provide the authors, titles, and sometimes abstracts, of relevant articles, along with the name of the periodical, volume, pages and date. Some online periodical indexes also provide the full-text of the article. When full-text articles are not provided, use the Cornell Library Catalog to determine which library owns the periodicals you need. For the complete list of indexes see Database Names. A selected list of indexes appears below.

Information on finding Italian newspapers appears on a separate page of this guide.


Selected Periodical Indexes and Abstracts


Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) in Web of Science

ISI citation databases -- under the collective name Web of Science -- are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. search by footnoted source (1975 - date)

FRANCIS: (international humanities and social sciences). Covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities (67%), social sciences (30%), and economics (3%). FRANCIS is strong in religion, the history of art, psychology, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. FRANCIS represents a wide range of materials, including serials, journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, French dissertations, exhibition catalogs, legislation, teaching materials, and reports. Updated monthly, FRANCIS covers 1984 to the present.

Historical Abstracts This historical periodical database includes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Covers over 2000 journals, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history. Coverage: 1954-

Humanities International Index A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

MLA Bibliography (Modern Language Association of America)
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively. Approximately 4,000 journals and series are screened, and entries for books are included. Entries appear both for collections of essays and for their contents. Covers 1963 on. Print version goes back to 1922.

PAIS International.
Contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese. Covers many periodicals in these subjects not indexed elsewhere.

Periodicals Index Online. Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. It reveals the contents of thousands of scholarly journals, published from the latter part of the eighteenth century to the latter part of the twentieth century. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages.

Proquest Research Library (aka Periodical Abstracts)
Available as part of the ProQuest Direct system, Periodical Abstracts indexes and abstracts an extensive number of periodicals, covering general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Also included are citations and abstracts to selected television and radio programs. Full text of many articles is provided.

Sociological Abstracts. Contains records from 3,000 journals covering sociology, social work, and other social sciences. Covers back to 1963.

Women's Resources International.
An interdisciplinary database which includes Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), and Women's Studies Database (1972-present) which provide references to journal articles and other materials pertaining to all aspects of women's studies. Also includes the resource, New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and Disciplines (1970-1995), Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography (1995), Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A Bibliography (1970- 1990), WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies (1985-1990). NISC will add new databases as they become available.


Altri siti Web

in italiano Italiansrus.com Contains links to Italian popular culture sites, popular magazines, and newspaper supplements, some in English, some in Italian.