Skip to main content

Education and Career Reference Sources: A Guide: College
Directories

Click on the TABS to access each section of this guide.

United States Directories

All Uris Reference copies are shelved in the Education and Careers Collection in the Willis Room, Uris Library main floor.

  • The College Handbook. New York: College Entrance Examination Board, 1941- .
    (Latest year: Uris Reference LA 226 .C694. Earlier years shelved in the Olin Stacks)

  • Higher Education Directory. Washington: Higher Education Publications, 1983- .
    (Latest year: Uris Reference L 901 .A31. Latest year: Olin Reference L 901 .H52 +. All earlier years shelved in the Olin Stacks L 901 .H52 +)

    Annual directory of institutions in the US, its possessions and territories accredited by regional, national, or professional agencies recognized by the US Department of Education. Descriptions include county, Congressional district, FICE identification number, IRS status, Carnegie classification code, accreditation, and administrative and academic officers.

  • Peterson's Guide to Four-Year Colleges. Princeton: Peterson's Guides, 1988- .
    (Latest year: Uris Reference L 901 .P48 Earlier years shelved in the Olin Stacks L 901 .P48 +)

    Annual directory containing profiles of 2005 colleges with in-depth two-page descriptions of 800 institutions. The latter descriptions, written by the college officials, include information on campus environment and student activities. This information comprises most of the directory. The basic profile consists of enrollment statistics, expenses and financial aid, housing, career services, and special programs.

International Directories

  • International Handbook of Universities and Other Institutions of Higher Education. Paris: International Association of Universities, 1959- .
    (Latest year: Olin Reference LA 183 .I61. Earlier years shelved in the Olin Stacks.)

    Contains information on over 4,000 university level degree granting institutions in over 169 countries and territories. Entries vary in length, some providing only a minimum of postal and telephone information. Most descriptions include: Name, location, history and administrative structure, admission requirements, degrees, academic year, enrollment, faculty, library holdings, and publications.