Skip to main content

Education and Career Reference Sources: A Guide: Career
Planning

Click on the TABS to access each section of this guide.

Career Beam

CareerBeam/CB Insights (includes CareerSearch). Online.

Users need to create an account with their Cornell email address at this site: http://cb.careersearch.net/login/?school_id=2539. Available to alumni as well as current students.
Has a career assessment area where you answer questions to better get an idea of where you might want to focus as well as resume and interview prep. Under the research tool section are First Research Industry reports that cover hundreds of industries in North America and include call prep questions so that you can get a feel for what is important to potential employers.

Career Planning

  • Bolles, Richard Nelson. What Color is Your Parachute: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career Changers. Berkeley: Ten Speed Press, 1970- .
    (Uris Ref HF 5383 .B693)

    An annual publication which provides up-to-date information on the job market and how to break into it. Useful also for getting ideas about various careers and what they're all about. Packed with useful information, tables, charts, tests, and bibliographies.

  • U.S. Department of Labor. Occupational Outlook Handbook. Washington: Bureau of Labor Statistics, 1957- . Annual.
    (Online. Print: Uris Ref HF 5381 .U58 O1)

    The Handbook describes in detail about hundreds of occupations giving information about what education and training are required, earnings, job outlook, the nature of work, etc. Photographs, tables, statistical charts and an index enhance the value of this publication. updated every year.

  • Encyclopedia of Career Development. Edited by Jeffrey H. Greenhaus, Gerard A. Callanan. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2006.
    (Online. Print: ILR Ref HF 5381 .E517 2006)

    With an online browseable index, an article title list, and a reader's guide to the major subjects covered, this is now the premier academic encyclopedia on careers and career choice. Bibliographies ("Further Reading") available for many articles.

  • Hopke, William E., ed. The Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance. 15th edition. 5 volumes. New York: Fergusons, 2011.
    (Uris Ref HF 5381 .E52 2011 +)

    Presents "as complete a picture as possible on the information needed to make a preliminary investigation of a career path" (Preface). Volume 1 gives an overview of 94 major industries; volumes 2-5 cover specific jobs within those industries from managerial, administrative and professional to clerical, support, and emerging technician occupations. A good source to use to find an overview of the major industries and up to date information about specific jobs.

  • Jackson, Acy L. How To Prepare Your Curriculum Vitae. Chicago: VGM Careers, 2003.
    (Online. Print: Uris Ref HF 5383 .J24x 2003)

    "How To Prepare Your Curriculum Vitae provides an in-depth explanation of the components of the curriculum vitae as well as step-by-step instructions for condensing your career into a concise biographical sketch that underscores your assets."

  • Wright, John W. The American Almanac of Jobs and Salaries. New York: Avon.
    (Olin Stacks HD 8038 .U5 A51)

    Ceased publication with the 2000/2001 edition, but still useful for comparative information. Contains statistics and salary summaries collected from the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics and professional organizations and publications on thousands of jobs and careers. It includes job descriptions and evaluations of future job opportunities. The emphasis is on white collar service jobs in the public and private sector.