Directories for Specific Disciplines and Fields
Some of these publications originally available in print form are superseded by online resources. The Peterson's Annual Guides to Graduate Study are still the most comprehensive reference volumes available for graduate programs.
- AAMC (Association of American Medical Colleges): Your Journey from Premed Through Residency2021 Official Guide to Medical School Admissions: How to Prepare for and Apply to Medical School is a free PDF download here: https://store.aamc.org/2021-official-guide-to-medical-school-admissions-how-to-prepare-for-and-apply-to-medical-school.html
- ABA-Approved Law SchoolsOnline. Current.
American Bar Association.
- ADEA Official Guide to Dental SchoolsCall Number: Uris Library Stacks RK 91 .A51American Dental Education Association.
Washington: American Dental Education Association, 2001- . - AnthroGuideCall Number: Olin Stacks GN 33 .G94Latest year shelved in Olin Library Reference.
Guide to programs and directory of members of the American Anthropological Association. - Association of Theological Schools: Member SchoolsOnline only.
Pittsburgh: The Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. The Commission on Accrediting. - The AWP Official Guide to Writing ProgramsOnline.
Print editions from 1990/1991 through 2002 at the Library Annex Oversize PN 181 .A84 .
Associated Writing Programs.
"AWP's Guide to Writing Programs is a free, searchable database of graduate and undergraduate writing programs in the US and abroad. Each member program listing contains information about faculty, admissions, requirements of study, and tuition and financial aid. " -- from the AWP Guide page - Directory of History Departments, Historical Organizations, and HistoriansCall Number: Olin Stacks E 11 .G94Washington: American Historical Association, Institutional Services Program, 2001- .
Latest year shelved in Olin Library Reference. - Graduate Study in Psychology and Associated FieldsCall Number: Olin Stacks BF 77 .G73American Psychological Association.
Washington: APA, 1984- .
Latest year shelved in Olin Library Reference.
This directory provides information about graduate programs in psychology and related fields as obtained from questionnaires sent to university departments. Organized alphabetically by state (Canada is included). Includes a list of programs by type of degree offered and an alphabetical index of schools. - Guide to Architecture SchoolsCall Number: Fine Arts Library Permanent Reserve NA 2103 .A67Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture.
Washington: ACSA, 1994- . - Guide to Geography Programs in the Americas: AAG Handbook and Directory of GeographersWashington: Association of American Geographers.
Online.
Print volumes (pre-2012) are shelved in the Olin Library Stacks G 76.5 .U5 G94. - Guide to Graduate Departments of SociologyCall Number: Olin Stacks LB 2372 .S6 G942008 to date.
Latest year shelved in Olin Library Reference.
American Sociological Association. - The Official Guide to ABA-approved Law SchoolsCall Number: Olin Stacks Oversize KF 266 .P92 2013 +Available online from HeinOline for the 1926 through 2012 editions. For current information, see the ABA-Approved Law Schools entry (above).
Produced in cooperation with the American Bar Association and the Association of American Law Schools.
- Official Guide to Medical School Admissions: How to Prepare for and Apply to Medical School.
- See the AAMC entry above. Formerly a print publication, now a free downloadable PDF.
- Peterson's Annual Guides to Graduate StudyCall Number: Olin Stacks LB 2371 .A611 +Latest year shelved in Olin Library Reference.
6 volumes. Princeton: Peterson's Guides, 1986- .
Comprehensive annual survey of over 31,000 graduate and professional degree programs in the United States, its territories, and in foreign countries that are accredited by U.S. accrediting agencies. Each brief description contains complete information on fields of study, accreditation, entrance and degree requirements, expenses, financial aid, areas of faculty research, and application contact. Supplementary full descriptions, including faculty names and areas of expertise, are provided by some institutions.
Book 1 contains an overview of the institutions; Book 2: Graduate programs in the humanities and social sciences; Book 3: Graduate programs in the biological and agricultural sciences; Book 4: the physical sciences and mathematics; Book 5: Graduate programs in engineering and applied sciences; Book 6: Graduate programs in business, education, health, information studies, law & social work.