Publication Date: University of Toronto Press, c1998
While covering much of the basic historical and literary terminology of the discipline, this dictionary emphasizes the "specialized theoretical vocabulary that is now regularly employed in theoretical writing about the theatre." (foreword)
Online dictionary from the University of Exeter. Provides information on nearly 1500 technical terms in 17 theatre categories (e.g, lighting, stage management, sound, costume, administration).
An International Dictionary of Theatre Language
Call Number: Olin Reference PN2035 I61
Publication Date: Greenwood, 1985
15,000 terms described spanning theater history from ancient times to the present day. Extensive bibliography and numerous cross references make this a valuable research tool.
NYC's Dictionary of Theatre and Drama Terms
Call Number: Olin Reference PN 2035 M63x 1992
Publication Date: Lincolnwood, IL: National Textbook Co., c1992
Theatre. A Book of Words
Call Number: Olin Reference PN2035 H32
Publication Date: Manchester: Carcanet, 1993.
Defines approximately 1200 contemporary and historical theatrical terms. Bibliography included.
Theatre Backstage from A to Z
Call Number: Olin Reference PN2091 M3 L68x 1999
Publication Date: University of Washington Press, c1999. 4th ed
An encyclopedia of all the technical aspects of stagecraft for both beginners and old hands. Considers construction, design, lighting, painting, properties, sounds, stage managing and other areas down to such details as tying a knot and constructing a flat. Includes over 300 illustrations.