Need a Good Example?
If you have never looked at an actual business plan, you may be surprised at the amount of research involved in making the business case. Here are a few options, including past business plans written by students peers.
- Plan from previous NBA 3000/NBA 5640 classes: Most plans from Prof. BenDaniel's entrepreneurship classes are available for review in the Management Library. These may not leave the library. Find plans that suit your research needs either by Tittle or NAICS Industry Code indexes.
- Selected top plans from previous NBA 5070 classes: These business plans are cataloged in the Management Library and can be borrowed for 2-hour periods.
- Business Plan HandbookElectronic plans via Gale Virtual Reference Library: The "Business Plan Handbook" includes sample business plans as well as "how to" articles and information for starting a new business. TIP: Click the "Business" category in the middle of the main page or use the search box.
The Portable MBA in EntrepreneurshipThis Ebook covers topics that entrepreneurs need to know to start and run entrepreneurial ventures effectively. It discusses: how to create a business plan; financial projections; financing a business using venture capital or using debt financing; and getting help from the government and other agencies.
Selected Books, etc.
Entrepreneur America by Call Number: HD62.37 .R93ISBN: 006662066XEntrepreneurship is the hottest growth area in the United States. Rob Ryan, through his Entrepreneur America program, provides advice (and sometimes capital) for some of the best and brightest young business people today, including graduates from Cornell, MIT, and Harvard.
The Startup Owner's Manual by Call Number: HD62.5 .B53 2012ISBN: 9780984999309The Startup Owner's Manual incorporates 10 years of learning and best practices that have swept the startup world. It incorporates the Business Model Canvas as the organizing principle for startup hypotheses, provides separate paths and advice for web/mobile products versus physical products, offers a wealth of detailed instruction on how to get, keep, and grow customers recognizing the different techniques for web and physical channels and teaches a "new math" for startups.
The Lean Startup by Call Number: HD62.5 .R545 2011ISBN: 0307887898Most startups fail. But many of those failures are preventable. The Lean Startup is a new approach being adopted across the globe, changing the way companies are built and new products are launched.
The Entrepreneurial Engineer by Call Number: HD62.5 .T57ISBN: 9781107024724Authors, educators and successful entrepreneurs wrote this textbook with the primary goal of maximizing your chance of entrepreneurial success. It is designed to encourage those wanting to start a business and those who have already begun. It includes guidance, instruction and practical lessons for the prospective entrepreneur.
High Tech Start Up by Call Number: HD62.5 .N47ISBN: 068487170XThis revised and updated edition of Nesheim's underground Silicon Valley bestseller incorporates twenty-three case studies of successful start-ups, including tables of wealth showing how much money founders and investors realized from each venture.
