Ukraine
Image: Bo&Ko, [Field of Sunflowers in Trushevtsy, Cherkas´ka Oblast´, Ukraine], 2009. Source: Flickr.
News Research
Most of our news databases exclude images, and that's because news images are licensed separately from news text. Here's a database that attempts to recreate the experience of reading print newspapers:
- Kyiv Post online, in English. Also available via the CUL catalog (not in English)
- Kyiv Independent in English
- New Voice of Ukraine in English
- Hromadske International in English
- Novynarnia (in Ukrainian)
- TV Channels from Ukraine: LIVE and wwitv.com
- Ukraine's national news agency, Ukrinform (warning: site may have been compromised)
- Library PressDisplay aka PressReader.com
Database. Full-color, full-text online versions of some major print newspaper titles, over 700 titles from 55 countries. Use the Publications by Country menu at left to choose USA, France, etc. More reliable sources usually displayed first. Use discretion in picking from these news sources; many popular magazines and non-news sources are included. NB: The last 90 days is available with some exceptions (Chicago Tribune, last 4 days available, for example). You can read Ukrainian newspapers through Press Reader. Search by country.
- New York Times Online/nytimes.com
The Student Assembly has purchased access for all Cornell undergraduates only:
sign up for access at http://nytimesaccess.com/cornell/. Students, faculty and staff in the Law School also have unlimited access. All other Cornell users are limited to 10 articles per month without a personal digital subscription. Current and recent articles (last 2 weeks) in plain text format from the print version of the New York Times are available on FACTIVA. - Wall Street Journal Online/wsj.com
Available free to all Cornell faculty, staff, and students. To set up free access, go to https://partner.wsj.com/partner/cornelluniversity and register. Select your account type from the drop-down menu, add a password, and agree to the Privacy Policy. Then click Create and you have access.
We have access to thousands of other newspapers online, mostly IN TEXT FORMAT ONLY, through the library catalog. Here is an EXCELLENT guide to doing news research that tells you how to get there: TODAY'S NEWS
News Photos
News Images are also available, but these are just for browsing; we do NOT have a subscription, and these agencies are trying to get you to buy the images (we do not encourage spending money this way!):
Is it real?
There are LOTS of pictures out there of the Russo-Ukraine conflict. But are they all real? Here's some great guidance from PBS on How to spot fake or misleading footage on social media claiming to be from the Ukraine war, including how to recognize manipulated photos.
Ukraine's STOP FAKE: stopfake.org "aims to implement high standards of journalism education in Ukraine, raise the level of media literacy, inform about the danger of propaganda and dissemination of fake information in the media."
[Genuine image of military vehicles are seen on a road, as Russia's invasion of Ukraine continues, near the town of Bucha in the Kyiv region, Ukraine] February 28, 2022. Maksim Levin/Reuters
Finding Images
Before you dive into google image searches, you'll need to know the key debates in the Russo-Ukrainian conflict. This will help you develop an effective list of keywords to use in your searches. To build that list, it's best to research the news. This page will introduce some sources for news about Ukraine.
Other Important Sources
- Euro|topics
Online only.
A European press review with English, German, and French summaries for 28 European countries. Text is the translated lead paragraph of articles from newspapers, magazines, and blogs. Some entries link to the full text online in original language and some only to the source site. There are three sections:-Debates (different national perspectives on an issue or event)
-Dossiers (collections of debates), and
-Media Landscapes - Europa World Plus
Look up Ukraine! This site has political, social and economic information about 250+ countries; includes country maps and a directory of business, cultural and political organizations in each country and 1,900+ international organizations.
-
CIA World Factbook
Provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues. Includes a few photos (none recent), maps and references. -
Medialandscapes.org A project of the European Journalism Centre, Maastricht. Profiles of 36 countries.
Deeper Dives
- Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL)Provides abstracts/summaries in English as well as the full text of books and journal articles, mainly from Central European countries, along with those from the West that deal with Eastern Europe, its histories, languages and literatures, along with its cultural, social and political realities.
- American Bibliography of Slavic and East European StudiesAmerican Bibliography of Slavic & Eastern European Studies (ABSEES), produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, provides information on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Some of the many subjects covered include: anthropology, culture & the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, online resources and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage for ABSEES ranges from 1939-present.
