Artstor images now in JSTOR
JSTOR is a growing digital library that includes multiple types and formats of content. Artstor images have now moved into JSTOR, to create a robust platform for discovering and working with both text and images. Images from Artstor collections can now be found in JSTOR, and JSTOR platform features and functionality have evolved to support work with multiple formats of research materials.
You can only download if you register for an account, which you'll need to do on campus. After you have an account, you can login from anywhere. More information and help in using JSTOR images.
Digital Collections
- Smithsonian Open AccessYou can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to more than 4.5 million 2D and 3D digital items from the collections. This includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
- Getty Research Institute Open Content Images100,000+ artwork images you can use for any purpose.
- Brooklyn Museum Online CollectionsBrooklyn Museum's digital gallery contains over 90,000 digitized images from its collections. Wide-range of cultures, regions, and temporal periods represented.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryProvides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Ad*AccessOver 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
- Digital Public Library of AmericaThe Digital Public Library of America empowers people to learn, grow, and contribute to a diverse and better-functioning society by maximizing access to our shared history, culture, and knowledge. Discover images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
- Yale University ImagesYale Library's digital collections provide access to millions of digitized works and images. This site is a living database, and new materials are added regularly.
Johnson Museum Online
Databases & Collections
The library subscribes to or has built a number of image databases that are excellent sources of images you can download and add to your papers and other projects. You need to keep in mind that some of them have licensing restricts that prohibit the re-publication (including open web publishing, such as on a blog or on social networking sites) of images you download. There are also quite a few digital collections that are free and open on the web. Use the library Visual Resources page for links and information about how best to use ARTstor and other image databases.
Get help with digital images
Recommended Databases for Image Discovery
The Library of Congress has digitized many of its collections, including many photographic collections. There are over 10,000 pictures of Ellis Island, for instance. You would not find these by doing a Google Image search.
Reverse Image Searching
Using TinEye, you can search by image or perform what we call a reverse image search. You can do that by uploading an image or searching by URL. You can also simply drag and drop your images to start your search.
TinEye constantly crawls the web and adds images to its index. Today, the TinEye index is over 52.1 billion images.