Detail
Detail of Piombo's portrait of Cardinal Bandinello Sauli
Still more
Detail of Petrus Christus. Portrait of a Carthusian, 1446. Oil on wood. Metropolitan Museum of Art collection. (Image links to full version on Met site)
Image
Sebastiano del Piombo. Cardinal Bandinello Sauli, His Secretary, and Two Geographers, 1516. Oil on panel. National Gallery of Art (Washington, DC) Collection.
What's with the flies?
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location.
►entry on Illusionism (trompe l'oeil)
⇒Mastai, Marie-Louise d'Otrange. Illusion in Art: Trompe l'Oeil: a History of Pictorial Illusionism. New York: Abaris Books, 1975.
►Entry on Cultural Entomology
⇒Marcel Dicke, "Insects In Western Art," American Entomologist, Volume 46, Issue 4, Winter 2000, Pages 228–237, https://doi.org/10.1093/ae/46.4.228
Books
Search catalog:
Subject: Trompe l'oeil painting ;
Anywhere: Fly, Flies or Insects
Examples:
►Neri, Janice. The Insect and the Image: Visualizing Nature in Early Modern Europe, 1500-1700. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2011.
►Ebert-Schifferer, S. Deceptions and Illusions: Five Centuries of Trompe l'Oeil Painting. Washington: National Gallery of Art, 2002.
►Chastel, André, and Lucian. Musca Depicta. Milano: F.M. Ricci, 1994. (via Borrow Direct/Interlibrary Loan)
►Engel, Michael S., and Tom Baione. Natural Histories: the Story of the Most Diverse and Myriad Animals on Earth. New York: Sterling, an imprint of Sterling Publishing Co., Inc., 2018. [Mann Library]
Articles
- Art & Architecture SourceThis database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
►Walker, Robert G. “The Painted Fly and the Connoisseur in Eighteenth-Century British Literature.” Journal of the Warburg & Courtauld Institutes 86, no. 1 (January 2023): 347–54.
Another example
Unknown artist. Portrait of a Woman of the Hofer Family, ca. 1470. Oil on silver fir panel. National Gallery (London) Collection.
CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 Deed (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 4.0 International)
detail of Portrait of a Woman of the Hofer Family, ca. 1470.
Want to know more? Watch this video from the National Gallery
more flies
