The Library licenses access to streaming videos from a number of vendors. This list provides links to and descriptions of video and film collections available to the Cornell community, as well as some resources available to the general public.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more
Provides streaming access to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial film series, The March of Time, which was shown in movie theaters and on television from 1935-1967. The newsreels have been restored by HBO Archives, allowing viewers to experience these historic newsreels as audiences did in earlier decades.
Series bibles "come under various guises and can be used as a pitch document, a guide for directors, or additional info to be submitted along with a pilot episode." This site links to the texts of more than 40, including Battlestar Galactica, Breaking Bad, Lost, Grey's Anatomy, and more.
Coverage: 1968 to date. Includes individual network evening news broadcasts from major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC’s Nightline. Includes commercials, searchable by brand name. Some broadcasts available via streaming video or transcripts.
Though its original intent was to "allow billions of people to discover, watch and share originally-created videos," YouTube has become a de facto repository for clips and full-length films of all kinds, including commercial releases. Some material has not been been posted legally, so content can disappear.