Folklore, Fairytales, and Symbolism: A Research Guide: Regional Folklore

New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
A similar work by Castro is Dictionary of Chicano Folklore, Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000. (Olin Stacks Oversize GR 111 .M49 C37x 2000)

Available online and in print format.
The print call number is Olin Library Stacks GR 141 .S573x 2000.
Oxford University Press, 2003.
First published 2000. Reissued with new covers 2003
"Some 1,250 entries about people, customs, animals, plants, minerals, legends, music, games, places, dates, dances, birds, numbers, gestures, life-cycle events, colors, and other subjects of folklore are deftly laid out with thorough references and an extensive bibliography. The inclusion of contemporary topics such as the tooth fairy, bus tickets, and photocopy lore (but no Internet hoaxes) demonstrates that folklore is a living, changing phenomenon. The authors emphatically reject the misconception that folk practices are direct survivals of pre-Christian religions or magic. The sheer volume of material (and the existence of other relevant titles) led the authors to omit extensive coverage of traditional foods, sports, fairs, children's lore, fairies, and superstitions, though most of those topics do have a few basic entries." [Choice, 01/03/2001]

Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 2004.
A motif index on the Stith Thompson model, but using a newly-developed classification system based in Arab culture.

Los Angeles: UCLA Latin American Center Publications, University of California, 1992.
A cumulative motif index to the 23-volume series South American aboriginal oral literature, published by the UCLA Latin American Center--the definitive collection in English. Includes an extensive concordance of new motifs and an encyclopedic introduction and comprehensive bibliography on South American folklore literature. [Adapted from the Guide to Reference]. CUL owns 15 of 23 volumes; search Folk literature of South American Indians as a title to see which volumes we own.

3 volumes. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011- .
Organized into sections covering the folklore of Pan Asian Americans; Mixed Heritage, Mixed Race Asian Americans; and then individual culture groups--Afghan Americans, Burmese Americans, and so on. Each section is further broken down into various topics within the folklore of each culture.

Carl Lindahl, John McNamara, and John Lindow, editors. 2 volumes. Armonk, NY: M. E. Sharpe, 2013.
An extensive exploration of Jewish folklore across geographic groups and aspects of Jewish folklore.

3 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2006.
More than 700 signed articles with bibliography and index. Covers themes, motifs, major works, scholars, genres, performers, foods, etc. Guide to related topics included. [Guide to Reference]

Online eBook
Also available in print at Olin Library Reference GR 35 .M43x 2000.
2 volumes. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2000.
A wonderful encyclopedia of period folklore with much literary and religious content. Entries are substantial essays with lightly annotated bibliographies and some B&W illustrations. A later, almost identical work (Medieval Folklore: A Guide to Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs, Oxford UP, 2002, Print: Olin Stacks GR 35 .M43x 2002) by the same authors has somewhat fewer entries, no illustrations, and minimal bibliographies.

New York: Facts on File, 2004.
Patricia Monaghan (Translator).

New York: Penguin Reference, 2000.
A concise guide to "the subjects that most interest most people who are interested in folklore." [Preface]

New York: Routledge, 2003.
Nearly 500 articles. Excludes South Asian music. Signed articles with bibliography. Some general articles on folklore topics and concepts are included as well as some commissioned case study articles. See also references. Subject index.