Sociology 3380: Urban Inequality: Subject Encyclopedias

Subscription cancelled after 2018. Four volumes: The South, West, Midwest and the Northeast regions, brings together a wide range of hard-to-locate data to answer questions concerning American cities. Provides coverage of the largest or fastest-growing cities, or those with a particular historical, political, industrial or commercial significance. Directory, bibliography information and illustrations round out each entry.

Examines the idea of the city from an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary perspective including fields such as politics, sociology, history, urban design, cultural studies, and psychology. More than 500 brief articles focus on the key topics in urban studies and associated fields.

Also in Fine Arts Reference collection. 2 vols. Over 500 signed articles that offer broad coverage of the role of cities and suburbs in American history and culture, including issues such as immigration, race, ethnicity. The information is relevant to urban places in general, not to specific locales, though some individual cities are included.

4 vols. Thorough coverage of urban cultures on a global basis. Presents 16 topical essays, and some 240 entries on major cities or metropolitan areas from around the world, including the U.S. Entries include location, population, tourist attractions, languages, history, and a detailed discussion of the origins and current situation of cultural makeup and identity. Bibliographical references and index.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Urban History synthesizes three generations of urban historical scholarship, providing a thematic and chronological overview of American urban history from the pre-Columbian era until the beginning decades of the twenty-first century. The 92 articlescollected in these two volumes describe and analyze the transformation of the United States from a simple agrarian and small-town society to a complex urban and suburban nation. Each article has been authored, peer-reviewed, and edited by scholars expert in the field, offering a reliable,historiographically informed examination of a specific subject in American urban history.The Encyclopedia differs from previous publications by providing semi-structured, synoptic articles ranging from 6,000 to 8,000 words or more. Each article is divided into three parts: 1. an accessible narrative overview of an important issue in American urban history; 2. a brief historiographicalsummary of significant writers and publications on the subject; and 3. a short introduction to essential primary sources. This tri-part format allows each article to serve multiple audiences: those who simply want an informed an intelligent introduction to a given topic; those interested inidentifying the leading publications on a specific subject; and those interested in performing more detailed research.

The two volumes of the Encyclopedia of American Urban History offer both a summary and an interpretation of the field. With contributions from leading academics in their fields, this authoritative resource offers an interdisciplinary approach by covering topics from economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology.

A database of reference books covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, communication and media studies, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, social issues and policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning, including the Encyclopedia of American Urban History.