Value of encyclopedias and handbooks
Encyclopedias are great for:
- locating authoritative, high quality information
- choosing a topic
- educating yourself quickly
- gaining background information easily (major ideas, theories, events, people)
- identifying variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- finding a bibliography (list of selected, important references for further reading)
Online handbooks on sociology & education
Handbook of the Sociology of Education in the 21st Century
This handbook unifies access and opportunity, two key concepts of sociology of education, throughout its 25 chapters. It explores today’s populations rarely noticed, such as undocumented students, first generation college students, and LGBTQs; and emphasizing the intersectionality of gender, race, ethnicity and social class. Sociologists often center their work on the sources and consequences of inequality. This handbook, while reviewing many of these explanations, takes a different approach, concentrating instead on what needs to be accomplished to reduce inequality.
Handbook of Indigenous Education
This book is a state-of-the-art reference work that defines and frames the state of thinking, research and practice in indigenous education. The book provides an authoritative overview of the subject in one text. The work sits within the context of The UN Declaration of the Rights of Indigenous Peoples that states “Indigenous peoples have the right to the dignity and diversity of their cultures, traditions, histories and aspirations which shall be appropriately reflected in education” (Article 14.1).
Second International Handbook of Urban Education
This second handbook offers all new content in which readers will find a thoughtful and measured interrogation of significant contemporary thinking and practice in urban education. This handbook focuses on factors such as social stratification, segmentation, segregation, racialization, urbanization, class formation and maintenance, and patriarchy. The central concern is to explore how equity plays out for those traditionally marginalized in urban schools in different locations around the globe.
Encyclopedias on education & sociology
Education and Sociology: an Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2001Provides details on a wide range of topics and issues. National and international perspectives and studies, as well as controversial points in education today, including gender inequality, globalization, minorities, meritocracy, and more.
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education by Publication Date: 2008Part of the Sage Reference Online collection.
Provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. Focuses on issues such as race, gender, socioeconomic class, the impact of technology on learning, what it means to be educated, and the role of teaching and learning in a societal context.
Sociology of Education: An A-to-Z Guide by Publication Date: 2013Part of the Sage Reference Online Collection
Over 300 articles introduce the social constructions of educational systems and their many players, including students and their peers, teachers, parents, the broader community, politicians and policy makers. Roles of schools, social processes governing schooling, and impacts on society are critically explored.
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education by ISBN: 1412981522Publication Date: 2012-05-24Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education (4 volumes, in both print and electronic formats) will present research and statistics, case studies, and best practices, policies, and programs at pre- and postsecondary levels. Diversity is a worldwide phenomenon, and while most of the entries in the Encyclopedia will focus on the United States, diversity issues and developments in nations around the world, including the United States, are intricately connected.
Sociology encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) HM17 .E56 2000 vols. 1-5Publication Date: 2000Classic reference source reflecting many changes in society and in the field of sociology. Articles cover core issues such as education, race, poverty, violence, and economics. Selective footnotes lead to further reading.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology OnlineBrings together 1800 specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. Contains brief and more detailed articles on both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field, and introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe. The online version provides online additions three times a year, extending and updating coverage and functionality.