Sexuality Research Guide: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Almanacs

New York: Garland, 2000.
Olin Library Reference HQ 75.13 .G37 2000
Volume 2 of The Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures. Like the companion volume, an exceptionally useful and thorough review of the topic. Biographical entries included.

Chicago: glbtq, Inc., 2003-2015.
Online only.
An extensive collection of signed articles on the arts and literature. Biographical and topical entries. Articles include bibliographies.

3 volumes. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2015.
Print version: Olin Reference HQ 21 .I677 2015.
"A comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems." [About this Book]

4 volumes. New York: Continuum, 1997-2002.
An extensive source of information on comparative issues in sexuality. The country-by-country entries cover standard topics including "Homoerotic, Homosexual, and Ambisexual Behaviors" and "Cross-Gendered Persons".

3 volumes. New York: Scribner, 2004.
Print version: Olin Reference HQ 76.3 .U5 E53x 2004.
An up-to-date encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history. "[T]he entries... offer a bracing, engaging, provocative tour of U.S. history and culture from multiple, overlapping, sometimes conflicting, but always informative perspectives." [Historical Introduction].

San Francisco: Cleis Press, 2005.
Olin Library Reference PN 1590 .G39 Q44 2005

San Francisco: Cleis Press, 2004.
Music Library Reference ML 100 .Q44 2004

San Francisco: Cleis Press, 2004.

Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2016.
Online only.
Focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist, and ecological perspectives on the topic in 400 signed entries from fields such as: Psychology, Human Development, Gender/Queer Studies, Sexuality Studies, Social Work, and Sociology.

Detroit: St. James, 1998.
Olin Library Reference HQ 1115 .R69x 2000; also in Mann Library Stacks
Retrospective source.
"[P]rovides a broad, multifaceted overview of lesbian and gay history, culture, and communities in the United States." [Foreword] Extensive bibliography.

Wiley-Blackwell, 2016.
Print version: Olin Reference HQ 1180 .W55 2016.
"The goal we set for the Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies was to reflect the wide range of topics, debates, and approaches to this exciting interdisciplinary, and increasingly, global field, while yet being forced to work with the unequal power relations that have historically marked the relations between "the West" and "the rest." While the 719 entries included in this encyclopedia may not be able to cover the entire field of gender and sexuality studies as it continues to develop in virtually all parts of the world, we hope we have captured both its complexity and its international scope." [Introduction]

2 volumes. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2005.
Olin Library Reference LC 192.6 .Y68 2005
This encyclopedia "queers the singular understanding of sexuality as heterosexual by detailing lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBTQ) sexualities as it relates to youth and education." [Preface] The 242 topical, signed entries are of medium length and include bibliographies of web sites, court cases, books, and articles for further research and information. Volume 2 includes a general bibliography of print and electronic resources and a detailed index.