REU: Research Experiences for Undergraduates (Summer 2024): Chemistry

• BRENDA, the Comprehensive Enzyme Information System (Free/Open): https://www.brenda-enzymes.org 
  Data on enzyme function extracted directly from the primary literature with links to other enzyme information sources.
• ChemSpider (Free/Open): http://www.chemspider.com
  Web based search engine of chemical structures and associated property information with links to other online chemical data services.
• EPA Chemistry Dashboard (Free/Open): https://comptox.epa.gov/dashboard
  Suite of computational toxicology databases and web apps to compile chemical data and support evaluation for potential health risks.
• MassBank: consortium of public repositories of high-resolution mass spectral data in the life sciences. •
  • MassBank Europe (Free/Open): https://massbank.eu/MassBank/Search 
  • MassBank Japan (Free/Open): http://www.massbank.jp/Search 
  • MassBank of North America (Free/Open): https://mona.fiehnlab.ucdavis.edu 
• MatNavi (Free/Open): http://mits.nims.go.jp/index_en.html
  Several materials databases including measured and predicted thermodynamic and structural properties.
• NIST Chemistry Webbook (Free/Open): http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS87332
  •Thermochemical, spectral and basic property data for small organic and inorganic compounds.
• OrgSyn (Free/Open): http://www.orgsyn.org
  Detailed and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
• Protein Data Bank (Free/Open): https://www.rcsb.org 
  Repository of macromolecular structural data, including proteins and nucleic acids. 
• PubChem (Free/Open): https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/search
  Chemical substances, compound structures and bioactivity data compiled from many US and international agencies and cross-liinked from PubMed. 
• SpectraBase (Free/Open): https://spectrabase.com 
  Fast text searchable access to hundreds of thousands of free NMR, IR, Raman, UV-Vis, and mass spectra.
• Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (Free/Open): https://sdbs.db.aist.go.jp/sdbs/cgi-bin/cre_index.cgi?lang=eng
  Spectral database for organic compounds including EI-MS, FT-IR, proton NMR, 13C NMR, Raman, and ESR.

The online JavaScript compressor will help you optimize your scripts for a better page loading speed.

Physical Properties 

• CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (Cornell subscription): http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5168655
• Chemistry Webbook (Free/Open): http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS87332
• Knovel Engineering (Cornell subscription): http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4004406
• Web Thermo Tables (Cornell subscription): http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/8762585
• MatNavi (Free/Open): http://mits.nims.go.jp/index_en.html
• ChemSpider (Free/Open): http://www.chemspider.com
• Thermodex (Index): index of hardcopy handbooks searchable by property and compound class with nearest library locator. 

Biological Properties

• Merck Index (Cornell subscription): http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/8496923
• PubChem (Free/Open): https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/search
• BRENDA, the Comprehensive Enzyme Information System (Free/Open): https://www.brenda-enzymes.org 
• EPA Chemistry Dashboard (Free/Open): https://comptox.epa.gov/dashboard

Crystal data

• WebCSD / Cambridge Structural Database(Cornell subscription): http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6815028
• ICSD Web / Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (Cornell subscription): http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/icsd
• Protein Data Bank (Free/Open): https://www.rcsb.org 

Spectral data

• Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (Free/Open): https://sdbs.db.aist.go.jp/sdbs/cgi-bin/cre_index.cgi?lang=eng
• SpectraBase (Free/Open): https://spectrabase.com 
• KnowItAll Anyware (Cornell subscription): http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/7019280​
• MassBank (Free/Open)
  • MassBank Europe (Free/Open): https://massbank.eu/MassBank/Search
  • MassBank Japan (Free/Open): http://www.massbank.jp/Search
  • MassBank of North America (Free/Open): https://mona.fiehnlab.ucdavis.edu/

Programmatic Data Access

• ​PubChem API: http://pubchemdocs.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/programmatic-access

Software: contact the Chemistry Librarian (Leah, lrm1@cornell.edu) 

• Chemdraw (Cornell subscription): https://it.chem.cornell.edu/chemdraw
• Chemistry data & analysis tools (Cornell subscription)

Chemistry Literature

• SciFinder (Cornell subscription): comprehensive coverage of literature in chemistry and related fields, including articles, patents, characterized chemicals, chemical reactions, and commercial sources.
  • Register first (use your Cornell email)
• Reaxys (Cornell subscription): web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, reactions and property data, compiled from over 200 years of literature. 
• PubMed (Free/Open): provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. 

Chemical Synthesis

• Organic Reactions (Cornell subscription): searchable collection of important synthetic reactions, critical discussion and and representative experimental conditions. 
• OrgSyn (Free/Open): eetailed and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
• e-EROS, Encyclopedia of Organic Reagents (Cornell subscription): reagents used in organic chemistry, including oxidizing agents, transition metal organometallic reagents, enzymatic reagents, catalysts, protecting groups, peptide reagents and many more.

Chemical Engineering & Technology 

• Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (Cornell subscription): ​covers chemical technology in the areas of agricultural chemicals; chemical engineering; coatings and inks; drugs, cosmetics, and biomaterials; ecology and industrial hygiene; food and animal nutrition; industrial organic and inorganic chemicals; and plastics and elastomers. 
• Encyclopedia of Polymer Science & Technology (Cornell subscription): http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/8687969
• AccessEngineering (Cornell subscription): http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/7197354
• Handbook of Green Chemistry (Cornell subscription): https://onlinelibrary-wiley-com.proxy.library.cornell.edu/doi/book/10.1002/9783527628698

Chemical Analysis & Testing

• ACS Reagent Chemicals (Cornell subscription): includes specifications and procedures for reagents and standard-grade reference materials for analytical chemistry.

Most households have a scrambled Rubik's Cube that has never been solved. Use the Rubik's solver to calculate the solution in only 20 steps!