Search tips
Many of our online encyclopedias are part of larger online reference collections. After opening an encyclopedia, scroll down the page to look for ways to search within the publication, or for ways to browse by chapter, or subject.
Subject encyclopedias, bibliographies and handbooks
African American Political Thought by Publication Date: 2021Offers ... "philosophical history of thinkers from the African American community and African diaspora who have addressed the central issues of political life: democracy, race, violence, liberation, solidarity, and mass political action." [publisher]
The Encyclopedia of Political ThoughtPublication Date: 2014Covers ... "significant political thinkers, political theories, concepts, ideas, and schools of thought. .... Explores key theories and theorists, including non-western perspectives, in tracing the evolution of political thought from antiquity to the present day" [publisher]
Encyclopedia of Race and RacismPublication Date: 2013"Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists." [publisher]
The Oxford Handbook of Comparative Political TheoryPublication Date: 2020Recommended entry: Mapping Afro-Caribbean Political Thought
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Recommended entries:
- Post-colonial Political Theory
- Black Radicalism in 20th-Century United States