Polling and Public Opinion Data: A Research Guide: Print Sources: U.S. Data

Louisville, KY: Opinion Research Service
Index to the American Public Opinion Data microfiche set, below.
Lists the texts of the questions asked in opinion polls administered nationwide, statewide, and locally. A cumulative index covers 1981-1985. Partially superseded by the online version, Polling the Nations, 1986 to date. Note: Time series data is available in the fiche set that is not online, including years ostensibly covered by the online database.

Louisville, KY: Opinion Research Service.
Microfiche companion to American Public Opinion Index. Contains complete response data for surveys indexed in APOI, including extensive time series data going back to the 1970s. Use APOI to identify poll codes and dates of interest, then go to this microfiche set.Contains complete response data for surveys by many different national and regional organizations in the U.S. This is a microfiche collection--in Current Periodicals & Microtext (CPM)--to be accessed by use of the American Public Opinion Index (see above), and using the procedure described below. Procedure: use the above-cited APO index in Reference to identify relevant surveys and write down poll code(s) and date(s).

Washington, DC: SAGE Publications Ltd. 2012.
Available online from CQ Press and in print: Olin Library Reference JK 2007 .B47 2012.
Authors Samuel J. Best and Brian S. Krueger - both election commentators for CBS news and statistical experts - present more than 100 tables and 100 figures showing the changes in the electorate and its voting patterns over time.

New York: Random House. Annual.
A cumulative volume covers 1935 through 1971. 1972 to 2007 covered in annual volumes. A cumulative print index covers 1935 to 1997. Each set of data is accompanied by an excellent essay on the significance of the data entitled "Analysis."

Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 2000.
This CD-ROM edition contains results for all polls conducted between 1935 and 1997 and the cumulative index.A cumulative volume covers 1935 through 1971. 1972 to date covered in annual volumes. A cumulative print index covers 1935 to 1997.

Washington: The Gallup Organization, 1989-2008.
Called Gallup Poll Briefing from 2006-2008, Gallup Poll Monthly from 1989-2002, Gallup Report from 1981-1989, Gallup Opinion Index from 1967-1981, Gallup Political Index from 1965-1967.
A monthly collection of short articles on topics of current interest. Often includes extensive historical data. A useful source of paper and speech ideas.

Los Angeles: Creators Syndicate, Weekly.
Alternative title: The Harris Survey, New York: Louis Harris & Associates from 1981 to 1987.
ABC News-Harris Survey from 1979-1980 (Olin Library Stacks HN 90 .P8 A12 +)
Harris Survey Yearbook of Public Opinion from 1970-1973 (Olin Library Stacks HM 261 .A1 H31 +).
See also Louis Harris Data Center Dataverse (Odum Institute for Research in Social Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill).