Reference Sources for Political Theory/Thought
- The Encyclopedia of Political Thought"Examines the history of political thought from antiquity to contemporary political theory and political philosophy." [publisher]
- Encyclopedia of Political Theory / Mark Bevir, editor.Note: The search window across the top of this resource will search across all of the Sage Knowledge encyclopedias. After opening the link, scroll down to find the search options for this title.
"... examines the ideas of the major political theorists from before Plato to our own times; the main schools of political thought; the concepts and issues that have captured the imagination and attention of political theorists; and some of the main institutions and practices inspired by political thought. [Also available in print: Olin Library Reference, JA 61.E515 2010]
- Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political ThoughtAlso available in print: Olin Library, JA61 .B63
"...outlines the thought of leading political theorists, past and present, and considers the way in which thinking about politics has evolved historically. " [preface]
- Cambridge History of Twentieth Century Political ThoughtSearch tip: To avoid casting your search across the entire Cambridge Histories collection, use the "Search Within" search box.
- The Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Political Thought
- The Cambridge history of medieval political thought c. 350-c. 1450
- The Cambridge history of political thought, 1450-1700
- The Cambridge history of eighteenth-century political thought
- The Cambridge history of nineteenth-century political thought
To find print copies, search the library catalog by title.
- Encyclopedia of Government and Politics byCall Number: Olin Library Reference JA61 .C66x 2004Chapter-length essays on 88 different topics describe the history of the field, theoretical aspects, and current issues. A bibliography is included with each entry.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of PhilosophyOnline version of the Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy. Articles can be browsed alphabetically or by philosophical themes, philosophies, historical periods, and religions. Full text entries can be searched by keyword, contributor, or bibliography. Bibliographies. Frequently updated.