Statistics--General Sources
- General Statistics:
- If using Google, try an advanced search for your topic and the keywords statistics or data.
- Also try Proquest Statistical Insight
- US Government Statistics:
-
- FedStats is a Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies.
- Statistical Abstracts compiles major stats from US govt. in one resource. Great one stop shopping. Find data on the cost of living index, population by specific demographic groups, crime, income, and more. Data comes from various government groups, industry groups and associations, and private market research firms. The appendix contains a list of foreign statistical abstracts and contact information.
- Do an advanced Google search for statistics in the .gov domain.
- Social Science Statistics:
- For data on everything from crime to the economy, consult the library's guide to Statistics Sources for the Social Sciences
- ProQuest Statistical InsightProvides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.
- Proquest Statistical Abstract of the USThe ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
- FedStatsA major portal for U. S. government statistics.
Finding International Information & Statistics
- World Development Indicators OnlineWDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural
- CIA World FactbookBasic information about countries
- World Bank - Research & DataIf you're looking for national and international statistics, and global statistical OR Information, analysis, and advice on global trends in the world economy, the World Bank is a good place to go.
- UNdata: country profilesYou can find official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry,
- SourceOECDSourceOECD is the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD, when complete, will comprise 19 Studies by Themes, containing all our monographs and reports; 19 periodicals online; some reference titles online; and the OECD statistical databases online.
- EIU Data ServicesFrom the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU), this is a comprehensive database of economic indicators with historical series, estimates and forecasts, covering 278 series for 117 countries, as well as 40 regional aggregates, over the period 1980 - 2005+. [The number of countries covered, as well as the time period in this database changes over time, usually the numbers increase.]
- CEIC Data ManagerCEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Our Global Database offers unprecedented coverage of 221 countries in Asia, Europe and Central Asia, Middle East, Africa and the Americas. EIC also offers 18 macro-economic concepts, and 1,400,000 time series. Data comes from analysts on the ground and the prime national and regional statistical agencies and major industrial data issuing organizations of each country covered. The CEIC Data Manager provides access to the entire CEIC database from within the Microsoft Excel spreadsheet application. Times-series can be directly retrieved from the database and imported into Excel for quick analysis.
- FAO Country Profiles"The FAO Country Profiles and Mapping Information System is a pioneering information retrieval tool which groups the organization's vast archive of information on its global activities in agriculture and development in a single area and catalogues it exclusively by country."
Demographics
American Factfinder - A product of the US Census, American Factfinder provides Census data in user friendly format.
SimplyMap - SimplyMap is an online GIS product that maps demographic and market data. Use it when you need demographic and marketing data for a specific geographic area in the U.S. such as a city, county, census tract, or ZIP code.
Compensation and Benefits Data
- Cornell ILR Wage AtlasAlthough existing tools, such as the New York State (NYS) Department of Labor’s (DOL’s) interactive Occupational Wages data visualization, allow users to find typical wages and wage ranges by job and labor market region in NYS, such tools do not offer opportunities to explore and quantify wage disparities by race-ethnicity, gender, age, or related demographic and household characteristics. The Cornell ILR Wage Atlas seeks to begin filling this gap with tools that enable users — policymakers, advocates, grassroots organizations, researchers, planners, and economic development practitioners, among others — to identify disparities in earnings, and disparities in earning a living wage, by a host of demographic and geographic variables.
- Employee Benefit Research Institute (EBRI)EBRI promotes the understanding and furtherance of employee benefits national policy. It is a neutral organization that does objective research on employee benefit programs and public policy with regard to employee benefits. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.
- FreeERISA (BenefitsPro)FreeERISA provides free access to all form 5500s filed with the Department of Labor over the past two years, which include data on retirement, health, life, and other benefits plans from more than 1 million U.S. companies.
- Living Wage CalculatorDeveloped by researchers at MIT, the Living Wage Calculator estimates the the cost of living in your community or region and lists typical expenses, the living wage and typical wages for the selected location.
- MovingCompare the cost of living in hundreds of U.S. and International cities. Provides state tax tables. Crime indexes for 500 cities. Interstate moving costs. Insurance premium estimates. Mortgage recommendations. Compute loan amount for which you may qualify. Plan your move with a custom timeline. Other interesting information, including a Salary Calculator, for planning a move.
- Overview of BLS Statistics on Pay and Benefits (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)Recommended site for finding authoritative and current information on U.S. pay and benefits. The BLS has various surveys that report on employee compensation. They are described on this site.
- Public Pensions (OECD)Access public pension indicators, outlooks and expenditures, from an international perspective.
- Public Plans DatabaseDeveloped by The Center for State and Local Government Excellence and the Center for Retirement Research at Boston College, "the PPD contains comprehensive financial, governance, and plan design information for 126 state and local defined benefit plans, along with additional data on state defined contribution plans."
- Salary.comSalary.com is an online compensation information for individuals, business managers and human resource professionals. Salary information is available through compensation surveys and the Salary Wizard, Salary.com's compensation tool. In addition to compensation data, editorial content on compensation advice, negotiation tactics and news specific to the compensation marketplace are also provided.
Policy and Legislation
- Congressional Budget OfficeThe Congressional Budget Office is a small nonpartisan agency that produces policy analyses, cost estimates of legislation, and budget and economic projections that serve as a basis for the Congress's decisions about spending and taxes.
- CRS - Congressional Research Reports Collection at UNTThe U.S. Congressional Research Service (CRS) is where Members of Congress turn for confidential, nonpartisan research and analysis on a range of issues. A number of libraries and non-profit organizations have sought to collect as many of the released reports as possible. UNT's collection is a centralized utility that brings together these collections to search.
- DocuTickerDocuTicker collects abstracts from 'grey literature': PDF reports published by government agencies, think tanks, NGOs, research institutes and other public interest groups.
- National Conference of State LegislaturesAn excellent source for finding current state legislation as well as analyses of top issues.
- State and Local Government on the InternetA well-organized guide to state, regional, county, municipal, town, borough, and village government web sites. (The city guides are the product of the sponsoring company.)
- Stateline.orgThis nonprofit, independent web site is a resource for journalists, students, researchers and citizens interested in state-level policy issues. The site publishes state-related news on elections, crime, economy, health care, technology, taxes & budget, energy, politics and the environment daily (except for holidays). Additional reference materials includes an annual State of the States report.
- LexisNexis State CapitalLexisNexis State Capital is an online service providing access to state government information. It includes legislative information (status of bills, full text of bills, legislative calendars), state statutes, full text of state regulations, information about state legislators and their staffs, and news sources for information on state issues for all 50 states.
- voxgov.voxgov is a discovery platform with a wealth of analytics providing fast and reliable access to unfiltered original source news, media and information direct from all branches of the U.S. Federal Government. voxgov enables users to easily find who in government is saying what and when on any subject throughout all phases of the political, legislative and regulatory process.--Publisher information.
- Congress.govProvides free access to a wide range of legislative information on the Congress, including the full text of the Congressional Record and bills for the 103rd to the present Congress, a directory of congressional committees and members of Congress, the weekly floor schedule for the House, and a schedule of daily committee hearings. Includes text of How our laws are made by Edward F. Willett Jr.
- Public Agenda OnlinePublic Agenda provides unbiased research that bridges the gap between American leaders and what the public really thinks about issues ranging from education to foreign policy to immigration to religion and civility in American life.
- Urban InstituteA "nonpartisan economic and social policy research organization" since 1968, the Urban Institute uses its web site to disseminate research briefs and reports on policy issues, including health care, housing, welfare, work & income, economy & taxes, crime & justice. The Policy Jargon Decoder is a useful glossary of public policy terms.
Legal and Congressional information
Besides being a good general source of news and statistics, LexisNexis is also a great source for legal and congressional information.
For Congressional information, go to Proquest Congressional
- Do a basic or advanced search for your topic (try checking the Index terms for your subject)
- Fiind CRS (Congressional Research Service) reports on the issue, committee and hearing reports, legislative histories and more.
- If it's about recent or upcoming legislation, search the Leguslative Histories, Bills & Laws section or check the Hot Bills/Hot Topics section.
You can also find legal analyses of your topic in LexisNexis Academic.
- Choose the Legal section
- in the Law Reviews search box, search for your topic
- Refine you results within your search if necessary
- Proquest CongressionalProvides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.
- Nexis UniProvides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.
Local government budgets and salaries
Budget information for local governments -- including salaries -- is frequently available to the public, and often posted on municipal websites.
- Local Government & School Accountability, Office of the New York State ComptrollerResources offered by the NYS OSC to support local government officials, policy makers and citizens. These tools facilitate access to information about the financial condition of municipalities and school districts.
- Town of Dryden budget informationBudgets for the Town of Dryden, NY, going back to 2006.
- City of Binghamton, Annual Adopted BudgetsAdopted budgets for the City of Binghamton, NY, going back to 2007.
- Citizen's Guide to Local BudgetsResource offered by the New York State Office of the Comptroller.