Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are a number of publications geared towards specific topics in sustainability. Some will be heavily academic while others are more business orientated.
Resources related to environmental sustainability, for example Wind Energy, may be very technical and a scientific background is helpful for understanding them.
Many publications related to social sustainability are produced by governments, non-governmental organizations (NGO), and academia such as the ESR review.
Articles on corporate governance can be found via Business Source Complete and/or ProQuest.
Conferences & Events
Check out United Nations Environment Programme's calendar of the upcoming events.
World Energy Outlook
Read the latest edition of the World Energy Outlook Report, the International Energy Agency's authoritative annual global energy projections.
The report analyses what the economic crisis will mean for energy markets and how the transition to a clean global energy system can be financed.
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.
The Doing Business project, launched in 2002, looks at domestic small and medium-size companies and measures the regulations applying to them through their life cycle.
By gathering and analyzing comprehensive quantitative data to compare business regulation environments across economies and over time, Doing Business encourages economies to compete towards more efficient regulation; offers measurable benchmarks for reform; and serves as a resource for academics, journalists, private sector researchers and others interested in the business climate of each economy.
Economic Intelligence Unit (EIU)
The EIU.com offers a suite of products (EIU Country Profile, EIU Country Data, and EIU Market Forecast and Indicators, and EIU City Data). These resources together offer insight into a country' macroeconomic environment, provide pricing information on more than 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide, and profile 200 countries.
Find industry trends, concerns, and major players via industry and association resources. See our website for additional industry information sources.
Associations often provide free industry data and white papers that cover important regulatory and market trends. Use this for finding the associations that you should be looking at.
Business Monitor International
More than 900 industry and country reports by BMI are available via ProQuest. Search the Advanced Search screen with pb("business monitor international") to limit results.
First Research Industry Reports
First Research industry profiles include industry trends, benchmark data, and call prep questions. Access via ProQuest, Mergent Online (Investext tab), and CareerBeam.
Frost & Sullivan
Emerging technologies in chemicals, materials, healthcare, IT, transportation, defense, and other areas.
Reports on more than 700 industries covering the USA, Canada, China. Includes ratios, cost structure, and related industries.
Finding an Industry Report
There are several library resources for industry reports. Capital IQ contains detailed industry reports from Standard & Poor's and is fantastic for larger industries. For smaller industries or for international reports, try Business Source Complete or IBISWorld. See the examples below:
provides industry research reports and profiles for over 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China. IBISWorld is a great starting point for understanding an industry, including niche and emerging industries.
Business Source Complete
provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
Example: Get a report on the advertising industry in China from Business Source Complete:
- Access Business Source Complete
- Click the link for Thesaurus from the top menubar.
- Type Advertising in the search box and click the Browse button.
- Check the box next to Advertising and click the Add button. Then click the Search button.
- Under Publication Type, check the box next to Industry Profiles.
- Click the link for PDF Full Text of Advertising Industry Profile: China to access the Marketline report.
A unique platform combing detailed information on investment banking, private equity, corporations, investment management, professional services, and brokerage.
To get a industry report in Capital IQ:
- Access Capital IQ via your account or the dedicated computers in the library.
- Click the Research tab from the top menubar.
- Filter by Report Type from the drop down menu to view just the industry reports
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Our Global Database offers unprecedented coverage of 221 countries in Asia, Europe and Central Asia, Middle East, Africa and the Americas. EIC also offers 18 macro-economic concepts, and 1,400,000 time series. Data comes from analysts on the ground and the prime national and regional statistical agencies and major industrial data issuing organizations of each country covered. The CEIC Data Manager provides access to the entire CEIC database from within the Microsoft Excel spreadsheet application. Times-series can be directly retrieved from the database and imported into Excel for quick analysis.