Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Creating a List of Companies
These are some of the main sources that will let you create a list of companies that match criteria you specify (such as where they are located, their indusries, size, etc.). There are additional places to search specifically for SGE-related job postings on the Sustainability Jobs tab.
Keep in mind, many larger companies may not entirely focus on SGE issues, but will have divisions or positions that do.
Use to create lists by industry, location, size, et cetera. Requires registration for a personal account.
Use to screen for companies by industry, geographic location, size, or keyword.
Use to find multinational companies by location, size, and industry.
Canada's national environmental magazine
Business Ethics Quarterly
Presents articles and reviews about the application of ethics to the business community, particularly global business and economic concerns.
Business Strategy and Development
Looks at understanding of business responses to improving development and contributing to national and international development goals.
Business Strategy and the Environment (BSE)
Peer reviewed journal that seeks to examine links between competitive strategy and environmental management as well as providing results of research into systems and standards, corporate environmental management tools, organisations and management, particular industry sectors and responses of business to contemporary environmental issues. It examines the role of regulation and policy in the business sector and encourages cross-country analysis.
Clean Technologies and Environmental Policy
Focusing on Technology Research, Innovation, Demonstration, Insights and Policy Issues for Sustainable Technologies
Corporate Social Responsibilty and Environmental Managment
A resource for the ever increasing number of organisations concerned about social and environmental responsibilities in the context of sustainable development and are interested in developing tools and case studies to improve their performance and accountability in these areas.
Electronic Green Journal
The Electronic Green Journal (EGJ) is a peer-reviewed online journal dedicated to international environmental information.
Environmental Policy and Governance
Seeks to advance interdisciplinary environmental research and its use to support novel solutions in environmental policy and governance.
Daily news that covers the major regulations, legislation and court cases in play, and explains how the battle over energy policy and climate change is affecting investment trends, technology development, alternative fuels and carbon mitigation strategies.
Journal of Agricultural Economics
Articles about agricultural economics and related disciplines such as statistics, marketing, business management, politics, history and sociology, and their application to issues in the agricultural, food, and related industries; rural communities, and the environment.
Journal of Energy Resources Technology
Peer reviewed work focusing on extraction and conversion of chemical and thermal to electrical or mechanical forms of energy, including transportation energy requirements, petroleum engineering, natural/unconventional gas extraction technology, advanced power cycles, and the relationship between energy source and environment.
Journal of Green Building
Presents the very best of practical applications (Part I) together with the very best of peer-reviewed research (Part II) in green building design and construction.
Journal of Industrial Ecology
The Journal of Industrial Ecology addresses a series of related topics:material and energy flows studies ('industrial metabolism'), technological change, dematerialization and decarbonization, life cycle planning, design and assessment
design for the environment, extended producer responsibility ('product stewardship'), eco-industrial parks ('industrial symbiosis'), product-oriented environmental policy, eco-efficiency
Journal of Sustainable Tourism
The Journal of Sustainable Tourism is a leading tourism journal which advances critical understanding of the relationships between tourism and sustainable development. It publishes theoretical, conceptual and empirical research that explores one or more of the economic, social, cultural, political, organisational or environmental aspects of the subject.
Network for Business Sustainability's Featured Journals
Each month, NBS compiles the latest research on management and sustainability by scanning the tables of contents of academic journals.
Organization and Environment
Organization & Environment aims to publish rigorous and impactful research on the management of organizations and its implications for the sustainability and flourishing of the social, natural and economic environment in which they act.
Renewable & Sustainable Energy Reviews
The mission of Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews is to communicate the most interesting and relevant critical thinking in renewable and sustainable energy in order to bring together the research community, the private sector and policy and decision makers.
This journal is a wide interdisciplinary publication which seeks to further debate and discuss the important concept of sustainable development. The scope of the journal therefore allows for contributions which have a local, national or global focus from a philosophical to a practical perspective. All contributions are refereed with the aim of providing the readership with high quality, original material.
Finding Industry Codes
What is an industry code?
SIC and NAICS are classification systems for industries. They allow you to group together companies in a specific industry in a standardized way.
Where can I find industry codes?
The Census website has SIC and NAICS codes and code definitions.
For example, the NAICS code for alternative energy (e.g., geothermal, ocean wave, solar, wind) is 237130.
Hey, there are some companies missing!
If you have tried the search on the left you might have noticed that a major player in the windmill industry, General Electric, is missing from the results list! Even though General Electric is based in Rochester, GE Wind is based in California and so in this case the database limits your search results as such.
To avoid this problem start broad:
- Do not limit the location for your first search.
- Use broader industries and use the appropriate industry code to search for your companies. Many databases will have GE Wind listed as a turbine manufacturer (SIC:3511, NAICS:333611) rather than an alternative energy manufacturer.
- Use more than one resource when creating lists of companies.
Open Access Scholarly Materials
"Sustainability Research & Policy Network" (SRPN)
-Click on "Sustainability Research & Policy Network (SRPN)" from the left-hand column and then "Subject Matter eJournals."
--Alternately, click on "Browse" and then "Sustainability Research & Policy Network."
AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
Consilience: the Journal of Sustainable Development
Consilience is an online journal dedicated to promoting interdisciplinary dialogue on sustainable development.
Empowering sustainability international journal
The Empowering Sustainability International Journal (ESIJ) is an interdisciplinary open access online publication of peer reviewed papers that aims at connecting scholars and practitioners through the exchange of ideas, opinions, and experiences related to all aspects of sustainability. The journal values different ways of knowing, creativity, collaborations, practice-based theorizing, and rethinking of concepts such as empowerment, sustainability, development, democracy, and justice.
Energy, sustainability and society
This international peer-reviewed open access journal offers a forum for discourse on systemic challenges at the intersection of energy, sustainability, and society for natural scientists, engineers, social and political scientists, and industry experts.
IDEAS from RePEc
Online database of RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) hosted by the Economic Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. Browsable and searchable with over 1,400,000 items available in full-text.
International Journal of Development and Sustainability
IDJS is a peer-reviewed open-access journal, published as the official journal of the International Society for Development and Sustainability (ISDS), Japan.
International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education
The aim of the journal is to provide up-to-date information on new developments and trends on sustainability in a higher education context, and to catalyse networking and information exchange on sustainable development as a whole, and on the SDGs in particular, on a global basis.
Journal of Management and Sustainability
Journal of Management and Sustainability (JMS) is an international, double-blind peer-reviewed, open-access journal for academics and practitioners of sustainable management. Published by the Canadian Center of Science and Education, JMS aims to provide an avenue for high-quality research in the fields of environmental sustainability, corporate social responsibility, economic sustainability and any disciplines concerning the interaction between management and enterprise sustainable development.
Journal of Renewable and Sustainable Energy
JRSE, published by the American Institute of Physics, is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal covering all areas of renewable and sustainable energy-related fields that apply to the physical science and engineering communities. Content is published online daily, collected into bimonthly issues (6 times a year).
Solutions: For a Sustainable and Desirable Future
Solutions is a non-profit online publication devoted to showcasing bold and innovative ideas for solving the world’s integrated ecological, social, and economic problems.
Sustainability: Science, Practice, & Policy (SSPP)
Sustainability: Science, Practice, & Policy (SSPP) is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal that provides a platform for the dissemination of new practices and for dialogue emerging out of the field of sustainability. The e-Journal fills a gap in the literature by establishing a forum for cross-disciplinary discussion of empirical science as well as practice and policy developments related to sustainability.