Activity Time!
Step 1: Throughout the course, you've been considering the idea of "monstrosity," what we fear or find to be "monstrous," and how this relates to cultural anxieties and social exclusion. Consider the themes you've discussed in class, or subjects that come up in the material you're reading. What are some key words or phrases you might use to describe this content?
Step 2: Around the room, you'll find several library books on related themes. Take a few minutes to look through these books. What terms might you use to describe these sources?
Enter your responses in the Padlet below:
Getting Oriented with Background Literature!
Tertiary sources are a useful place to begin your search and familiarize yourself with a research topic. These include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other compilations or indexes of existing sources.
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryLiterary theory from 1900 to present. Available in print and online.
Encyclopedia of the GothicCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN3435 E56 2013+Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2013
Palgrave Handbook to Horror LiteraturePublication Date: Palgrave, 2018Examines the use of horror in storytelling, from oral traditions through folklore and fairy tales to contemporary horror fiction.
Cambridge Companion to Science FictionCall Number: Print: Olin Library stacks PN3377.5 S3 C36x 2003Publication Date: Cambridge Univ. Press, 2003
Subject Headings!
Below are links to some subject headings from the library catalogue that may lead you to additional relevant literature.
Other Useful Research Guides
There are numerous research guides available through the CUL website that you can use as a starting point for your research.
Literature Subject Guides across Disciplines
Using the Library Catalogue
How do I locate a book or other resource through the library catalogue?
Library website: https://www.library.cornell.edu/
Here is a more detailed guide on using the catalogue and reading call numbers.
Classifications to know:
P- Language and Literature
PR- English Literature
PS- American Literature
Streaming Sources
Cornell Libraries have access to a number of streaming services, as well as image databases to support visual research.
Full list of streaming databases
Secondary Sources: Databases & Guides!
What are secondary sources? Secondary sources are documents or recordings of information originally presented elsewhere.
- JStor
Journal articles, including content more than 5 years old. - MLA International Bibliography
Journal articles and scholarly sources, including primarily contemporary/recent content - Humanities International Index
Citations and abstracts for sources from humanities disciplines
Remember to draw in diverse sources and voices in your work: this can include scholarly material, blog posts, newspaper, magazine and zine articles, images and visual sources, and more!
News/Popular Media Sources:
The Student Assembly has purchased access for all Cornell undergraduates only: sign up for access at https://nytimesaccess.com/cornell/. Students, faculty and staff in the Law School also have unlimited access.
Citation Matters!
It's important to cite others' work ethically. As literary scholars, writers, and appreciators of literature, who you cite and how you give credit to other creators has the power to amplify their work and literary voice. Below are some useful concepts, tools, and resources to help you practice inclusive and ethical research!
The Chicago Style Guide is a great place to start if you need help formatting papers, understanding in-text citations and endnotes, and creating a reference list.
ZoteroBib is a useful tool for generating bibliographies in your preferred citation style. You can enter information manually, or enter a URL to the resource to generate a citation.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab is an excellent resource to refer to for questions regarding citation style, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, or any formatting questions you may have.
Cornell Libraries offer citation management resources and workshops.
Remember to consider citation justice as you create a reference list throughout your research. Citation justice is defined as: "The act of citing authors/sources based on identity to uplift marginalized voices with the knowledge that citation is used as a form of power in a patriarchal society based on white supremacy" (Coalter 2022).
In reviewing the references, artwork, and other sources you've compiled in your research, ask yourself:
Whose voices are represented?
Whose voices are missing?
Primary Sources & Digital Collections
Librarian
Hannah Toombs (she/her/hers)
Engaged Learning Librarian
Co-Liaison to Latin American Studies
hct37@cornell.edu
Further Reading Recs!
The Horrid Looking GlassISBN: 9781904710158
Monsters, Gender and Sexuality in Medieval English LiteratureISBN: 9781280489013Publication Date: 2010-01-01
What Else Can I do at the Library?
Can't find the book or resource you're looking for? Get it through Borrow Direct, InterLibrary Loan, or recommend a purchase!
Looking for study space for a group or yourself? Find one here!
Need personalized research support? Meet with a librarian one-on-one, get to know your department's liaison librarian, or check out our 24/7 chat!
Need to rent a laptop, audio and video equipment, camera, or other tech? Rent it here!
Looking to learn a new skill like citation management, QGIS, or collections research? Check out our calendar of workshops!
Interested in checking out cool exhibitions, meeting authors, seeing new films, and more? Check out the CUL events calendar!
Do you like to read for fun? We have a guide for that!
Stay in the loop about what's happening at the library by following us on social media!
Podcast Workshop Materials
Land Acknowledgement
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign Nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The Confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state, and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.
This land acknowledgment has been reviewed and approved by the traditional Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' leadership.