.
William F. Poole, the father of American periodical indexes
Printed Periodical Indexes in Olin Reference
The 'AI' section in Olin Reference houses a variety of general and multidisciplinary periodical indexes covering back through the 19th century. Some have long runs, some only lasted a few years. Coverage in most of the titles listed below includes popular magazines and a sampling of some of the better known academic journals. Title lists usually appear at the beginning of individual volumes, and may vary somewhat from year to year.
- Index to early American periodical literature, 1728-1870Call Number: Olin Ref AI3 .I37
- Annual magazine subject indexCall Number: Olin Ref AI3 .M181908-1949; Appended to the Dramatic Index for 1912-
- American literary and drama reviews : an index to late nineteenth century periodicalsCall Number: Olin Ref AI3 .M34
- An alphabetical index to subjects, treated in the reviews, and other periodicals, to which no indexes have been publishedCall Number: Olin Ref AI3 .P82 1848Essentially, the first volume of Poole's
- Poole's Index to Periodical LiteratureCall Number: Olin Ref AI 3 P82covers 1802 - 1906; online in 19th Century Masterfile
- Poole’s index: date and volume keyCall Number: Olin Ref AI3 .P822 +Alphabetical listing of the 479 journal titles in Poole's, showing which years/volumes were indexed; 1802-1906
- Nineteenth century readers’ guide to periodical literature, 1890-1899 : with supplementary indexing, 1900-1922Call Number: Olin Ref AI3 .R279 +2 vols
- Index to the periodicals of 1890-1902Call Number: Olin Ref AI3 .R45title varies; 1890 vol includes index to published photographs; British
- Comprehensive index to English-language little magazines, 1890-1970Call Number: Olin Ref AI3 .S128 vols.
- The Subject index to periodicalsCall Number: Olin Ref AI3 .S94 ++1915/1916-1922,1926-1961;
precursor to British Humanities Index - Canadian periodical indexCall Number: AI3 .C19 +1938,1941-1947, 1948/1959-2002; latest 5 years in Ref
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900The vast majority of articles written for Victorian periodicals were published anonymously, or under pseudonyms. The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception to this is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from first issue, in 1802. Wellesley does not index poetry.
- Early periodical indexes : bibliographies and indexes of literature published in periodicals before 1900. byCall Number: Uris Z6941 B35x 2000 (A.D. White Library)Publication Date: 2000A reference guide to indexes published prior to 1900 that are restricted to periodicals (such as Poole's), and those published later (such as Wellesley), as well as serial and topical bibliographies citing publications in all formats. The scope is limited to European languages. Electronic databases, both Web-based and CD-ROMs, are included. Four indexes--author, title, topical subjects, and dates of coverage--provide access.