Social Science
- Proquest Social Sciences Premium CollectionCombines collections in politics and sociology, with resources that cut across the spectrum of the social sciences.
Search tips:
- Start simple, with just a few terms.
- Combine terms and phrases with AND
- Enclose phrases in quotation marks.
- Enclose alternative terms (OR) in parentheses
This database also indexes dissertations. Note the filters for narrowing your search to scholarly journals, magazines, etc.
Because Proquest databases search across the full text, it can sometimes be difficult to narrow your search to articles truly focused on your topic. After opening an article, you can do a quick [ctrl F] search for you term to see if it's relevant. Sometimes your terms are appearing only in the footnotes or references (but the article may still be relevant).
- Sociology SourceA core sociology database.
Science
- BIOSISIssued as a part of the ISI Web of Science, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology.
- ScienceDirectFull-text articles on a wide variety of science topics.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science indexes scientific journal articles, as well as articles in the social sciences and humanities. Web of Science includes cited- reference searching used to find articles that have cited a particular article or author.
Business Databases
- ABI InformABI Inform is an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles.
- Business Source PremierBSP covers business news and also offers good coverage of trade and industry journals. It offers scanned images of the pages, as well as their text.
The Articles & Full Text from the library homepage
The library homepage also provides access to the EBSCO Discovery System (EDS) interface. This interface searches across multiple databases and provides links to many, but by no means all, of the library's online resources. Because it is searching across a large number of databases, it can sometimes return useful results. It's always worth a try. The filters are along the top of the search results
