Library Resources and Services for Cornell Health Staff: Databases

The most important 500 databases are linked from our list by subject covered in the Library's Databases web page.

Category from the Databases subject categories listing the most important databases used for human and veterinary medicine research.

UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource containing summaries on clinical questions, topics and conditions written and research by subject experts and based on recent research. It is designed to answer the clinical questions that arise in daily practice. UpToDate covers over 10,000 clinical topics in over 20 medical specialties and includes links to full-text articles, drugs & drug interaction databases, and medical calculators.

Note especially Kanopy and Swank.

Find background information on any topic with these subject reference resources.

Over 400 online reference titles from Oxford with entries ranging from brief definitions to longer background articles. Updated with new editions, rather than new or revised individual articles.

One of eleven Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs) purchased by the Library. Not available in Oxford Reference, each of these titles is continuously updated.

Online bilingual dictionaries for English and these languages: French, German, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, Portuguese, and Russian.

The premier historical dictionary of the English language. Entries for each sense of the word are illustrated with quotations from the full extent of written English.