Getting Oriented with Background Literature!
Tertiary sources are a useful place to begin your search and familiarize yourself with a research topic. These include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other compilations or indexes of existing sources.
The Encyclopedia of Archaeological SciencesPublication Date: 2019Covers emerging trends and foundational theories of archaeological science, offering a reliable reference on current techniques and practices.
Encyclopedia of Global ArchaeologyPublication Date: 2014This multi-volume work provides a comprehensive and systematic coverage of archaeology and its related disciplines. It includes all time periods and regions of the world and all stages of human development.
Oxford Companion to Archaeology (2nd ed.)Featuring 700 authoritative articles written by hundreds of respected scholars from all over the world, The Oxford Companion to Archaeology provides authoritative, entries on a range of subjects, including engaging biographies of the great figures in the field, extensive coverage of the methods used in archaeological research, together with essays that examine human evolution and the many general facets of culture.
Subject Headings!
Below are links to some subject headings from the library catalogue that may lead you to additional relevant literature.
Other Useful Research Guides
There are numerous research guides available through the CUL website that you can use as a starting point for your research.
Archaeology: A Guide to Research
Anthropology: Guide to Library Collections & Services
Using the Library Catalogue
How do I locate a book or other resource through the library catalogue?
Library website: https://www.library.cornell.edu/
Here is a more detailed guide on using the catalogue and reading call numbers.
Secondary Sources: Databases & Guides!
What are secondary sources? Secondary sources are documents or recordings of information originally presented elsewhere.
General Social Sciences/Humanities:
- MLA International Bibliography
Journal articles and scholarly sources, including primarily contemporary/recent content - Humanities International Index
Citations and abstracts for sources from humanities disciplines
Anthropology Databases:
Digital Collections & Archives
Citation Matters!
It's important to cite others' work ethically. As literary scholars, writers, and appreciators of literature, who you cite and how you give credit to other creators has the power to amplify their work and literary voice. Below are some useful concepts, tools, and resources to help you practice inclusive and ethical research!
ZoteroBib is a useful tool for generating bibliographies in your preferred citation style. You can enter information manually, or enter a URL to the resource to generate a citation.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab is an excellent resource to refer to for questions regarding citation style, in-text citations, footnotes and endnotes, or any formatting questions you may have.
Cornell Libraries offer citation management resources and workshops.
Remember to consider citation justice as you create a reference list throughout your research. Citation justice is defined as: "The act of citing authors/sources based on identity to uplift marginalized voices with the knowledge that citation is used as a form of power in a patriarchal society based on white supremacy" (Coalter 2022).
In reviewing the references, artwork, and other sources you've compiled in your research, ask yourself:
Whose voices are represented?
Whose voices are missing?
Librarian
Hannah Toombs (she/her/hers)
Engaged Learning Librarian
Co-Liaison to Latin American Studies
hct37@cornell.edu
Further Reading Recs!
What Else Can I do at the Library?
Can't find the book or resource you're looking for? Get it through Borrow Direct, InterLibrary Loan, or recommend a purchase!
Looking for study space for a group or yourself? Find one here!
Need personalized research support? Meet with a librarian one-on-one, get to know your department's liaison librarian, or check out our 24/7 chat!
Need to rent a laptop, audio and video equipment, camera, or other tech? Rent it here!
Looking to learn a new skill like citation management, QGIS, or collections research? Check out our calendar of workshops!
Interested in checking out cool exhibitions, meeting authors, seeing new films, and more? Check out the CUL events calendar!
Do you like to read for fun? We have a guide for that!
Stay in the loop about what's happening at the library by following us on social media!
Land Acknowledgement
Cornell University is located on the traditional homelands of the Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' (the Cayuga Nation). The Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' are members of the Haudenosaunee Confederacy, an alliance of six sovereign Nations with a historic and contemporary presence on this land. The Confederacy precedes the establishment of Cornell University, New York state, and the United States of America. We acknowledge the painful history of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' dispossession, and honor the ongoing connection of Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' people, past and present, to these lands and waters.
This land acknowledgment has been reviewed and approved by the traditional Gayogo̱hó꞉nǫ' leadership.