Bibliographies
Databases have largely replaced bibliographies, but the following titles are important to know about. Print bibliographies are still useful for single author studies and similar focused topics.
- Bibliografia generale della lingua e della letteratura Italiana (BiGLI)
- Bibliografia delle stampe popolari e carattere profano dei secoli XVI e XVII conservate nella Biblioteca nazionale di Firenze
- Biographical and bibliographical dictionary of the Italian humanists and of the world of classical scholarship in Italy
- Italian women writers : a bio-bibliographical sourcebook
- La Rassegna della letteratura italiana
- Letteratura italiana, aggiornamento bibliografico (Cornell has 1991-2006)
- Manuale critico-bibliografico per lo studio della letteratura italiana. 4th ed., 1994.PQ4037 .P8 1994z
Important: see also:
For more sources, see this Cornell Library research guide
Article Databases
- MLA International BibliographyThe premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
- JSTORJSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.
- Project MUSESearchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
- I libri database (Italian Bibliography Online)
Electronic Resource - Electronic Enlightenment
Correspondence between 18th-century intellectuals. - Making of the Modern WorldPrimary sources on European political economy and social thought.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
18th century primary sources - Periodical Archive Online
Full-text scholarly journals and magazines, international scope.
[AIDA [electronic resource] : articoli italiani di periodici accademici = Bibliography of Italian periodical literature -- not owned by Cornell]
[Textes de la Renaissance and Colloques, Congrès et Conférences, Renaissance européenne - primary and scholarly works on the Renaissance, not owned by Cornell]
Dictionaries
Cornell owns many Italian dictionaries, including translation dictionaries and works of the selected dialects and regional vernaculars.
Of special interest are:
- different editions of the Vocabolario of the Accademia della Crusca
- the Opera del Vocabolario italiano
- Treccani website, with the important Italian dictionary, Encyclopedia, and Dizionario biografico degli Italiani