International Cities: Information & Statistics: Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
This guide focuses on resources that provide difficult-to-find data and other information about individual cities outside the United States, including some comparative sources. I have excluded country-level data and information resources.
Check our COVID-19 update page to see which of our services are available. You will need to change your research approach during this time of limited access to print materials to focus on using our extensive online resources.
Encyclopedias and Reference Sources with Information about International Cities
"Produced by the OECD Sahel and West Africa Club, Africapolis.org is the only comprehensive and standardised geospatial database on cities and urbanisation dynamics in Africa. Combining demographic sources, satellite and aerial imagery and other cartographic sources, it is designed to enable comparative and long-term analyses of urban dynamics - covering 7500 agglomerations in 50 countries." Description from database home page.
Capital Cities Around the World
Call Number: Olin Library Reference G 140 .C93 2013 +
Publication Date: 2013
Essays provide substantially equal treatment for the 202 capital cities of 198 countries (a few have dual capitals). Especially interesting for the background on capitals of smaller countries. Each essay has five sections--a brief introductory paragraph, historical overview, major landmarks, culture and society, and a short bibliography.
Available online and in print.
Intended as an introduction to important topics in urban studies, this encyclopedia includes entries on some individual cities because of their historical importance, their importance within the literature of urban studies, or their connections with other articles in this encyclopedia.
Available online and in print.
Sections on climate change, energy, transport and air quality, water, and waste management for each city profiled. Among the 148 entries, there are 27 entries on individual international cities.
This book contains articles on historic Articles have been taken from the second edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, completed in 2004, but in many cases expanded and rewritten. All have been updated to include fresh historical information, with note of contemporary social developments and population statistics.
Print. Three volumes.
Volume II, Part 3, The Cultural Centers of Latin America, includes detailed essays on 20 Latin American cities as artistic and cultural centers (e.g., Havana, Mexico City, Bogotá, Belém, Buenos Aires, São Paulo, etc.). Lengthy bibliographies.
Background essays on Asian cities with statistical data from 1998. Accompanying CD-ROM shelved in the Kroch Asia stacks contains this content as well. No newer version of this publication is currently available.
Search the names of cities inSage Knowledge (formerly Sage Reference Online). Sage Knowledge contains a variety of reference books (Green Cities, Encyclopedia of Consumption and Waste, Encyclopedia of Homelessness, Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice, etc.) that have detailed information on individual cities.