Immigration: social sciences and humanities: Background Sources

6 vols. More than 1,000 illustrations, 50 maps, and numerous charts give additional weight to more than 2,000 mostly signed entries. Coverage is comprehensive, with entries which vary in length from a few lines to several thousand words. Individual coverage is given to the six largest ethnic groups among Asian Americans: Chinese Americans, Filipino Americans, Japanese Americans, Asian Indian Americans, Korean Americans, and Vietnamese Americans. Other individual ethnic groups are also presented in some detail. History, culture, and language are a focus of coverage.

6 vols. A more global and less United States-focused exploration of the African American experience than in the 1st ed., without information by U.S. state. Culture broadly defined provides information on persons, events, and trends. Some 500 black-and-white photographs. Concludes with a collection of around 35 primary documents, section of "Statistics and Lists," and an overall index.

4 vols. Thematic essays, organized in four parts: (1) immigration history; (2) immigration issues; (3) immigrant groups in America; (4) immigration documents. Entries include photos, maps, and charts. Glossary and bibliography. General, geographic, and legal-judicial subject indexes.

2 vols. Multidisciplinary encyclopedia examines the overall effect of migration on those who migrate and on the cultures of which they become a part. In the first volume, "Diaspora Overviews" surveys more than 20 ethnic groups that have experienced significant voluntary or forced immigration. "Topics" covers the effect that immigrant cultures have had on their new locales. The second volume is devoted to diaspora communities and contains some 50 portraits of individual diaspora communities.

3 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.

3 vols. Drawing on the work of over 300 scholars, a single authoritative reference for information on the historical, political, economic, and cultural relations between people of African descent and the rest of the world community. Organized in A–Z sections covering global topics, country of origin, and destination country.

26 Vols. Covers theory and methodology in core disciplines and emphasizes the cross-disciplinary interconnectedness among fields within the social sciences. More than 4,000 signed entries including overviews, reviews of future directions, biographies and bibliographies. Online version provides ongoing regular updates and additional new articles. Vol. 26 in print format is a classified list of entries by field and extensive subject index connecting related topics.

4 vols. More than 900 articles that draw together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.

Now, and in the past, migration has provided millions with an escape route from poverty, oppression, and conflict of all kinds. Through full-color maps, graphs, and photographs,People on the Movedistills a vast amount of information as it explores the ways in which humans have spread around the world, adapted to new realities, and shaped their destinations. From the history of migration to contemporary global patterns, this concise atlas illuminates a wide range of topics in a crisp, accessible text--including refugees and asylum seekers, diasporas, remittances, the brain drain, trafficking, students, retirement, return migration, and much more. Full-color maps of regions, countries, and continents vividly display trends, issues, and processes at a glance, giving a richly detailed picture of human mobility.