TWO WAYS TO SEARCH CUL CATALOG FOR STREAMING CONTENT
1.) Search "streaming video" in the CUL Catalog
2.) Select "Access -> online" and "Format -> video" limiters in left sidebar. https://catalog.library.cornell.edu/
Popular Streaming Databases
The library subscribes to several databases hosting both commercial and educational films from the 1890s to the present. If you do not see any relevant films or media you would like to use to support your course you can request streaming media for e-reserves via either of the following methods.
- Course Reserves for Instructors page explains how to submit requests via Canvas. Specify streaming access where available, or:
- Send a list or syllabus to <culmediareserves@cornell.edu> include all the following information:
- Course number, including cross-listed courses
- Section number, if applicable, to differentiate from other sections
- SIS ID, found in the Settings section of their course’s Canvas page
- The date(s) when the material will be used in their course
Academic Video Online
- Academic Video Online delivers almost 80,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 18,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street (a Clarivate Company) and includes every kind of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, raw footage, and thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners.
The Criterion Collection
- A streaming video collection of 400 films from Janus Films (The Criterion Collection<), including classics of European, Asian, and North American cinema, as well as notable documentaries and cult films.
Docuseek2
-
The Docuseek2 : Complete Collection provides exclusive educational streaming access to important films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films.”
Kanopy
- Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service. Immediate access is available for several hundred films and requests for additional films for course or research purposes can be placed through the platform.
Projectr
- "Projectr partners with educational institutions and public libraries throughout North America to present a curated and ever-expanding collection of acclaimed movies, archival restorations, award-winning documentaries and artist-made works from around the world."
Swank Motion Pictures
- Offering streaming through their Swank Digital Campus service, Swank Motion Pictures is the nontheatrical distributor for the majority of the major Hollywood studios as well as many independent, foreign, art house, and documentary offerings.
More streaming video databases can be found on the Streaming Video Library Databases page.
More streaming video resources
The library has access to streaming videos from a number of vendors. This list provides links to and descriptions of video and film collections available to the Cornell community, as well as some resources available to the general public.
-
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
-
Henry Stewart Talks. Biomedical & life Sciences CollectionThese presentations on medical and biomedical engineering topics consist of navigable slides with accompanying narration synchronized for ease of listening. All are approximately 40-50 minutes long.
-
Internet Archive Moving Image ArchiveContains over a million digital movies including classic full-length films, documentaries, news broadcasts, cartoons, concerts, industrial and government films, television shows, and commercials.
-
Met Opera on DemandMore than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ’80s, ’90s, and ’00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
-
National Committee for Fluid Mechanics FilmsIn 1961, Ascher Shapiro founded the National Committee for Fluid Mechanics Films (NCFMF) in cooperation with the Education Development Center and released this series of 39 videos and accompanying texts for the teaching of fluid mechanics.
-
Naxos Video Library
The world's leading Performing Arts DVD distributor brings you an extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand! Once you subscribe, stream any video in the library from anywhere in the world with an internet connection.
-
NFB=ONF (National Film Board of Canada)
Licensed access to the National Film Board's online streamed videos and additional titles in the CAMPUS collection. Included are documentaries, animation, experimental films, and alternative dramas.
-
Poets On Screen (LION)Part of the Literature Online (LION) database, which offers the full text of more than 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose from the eighth century to the present day. The Poets on Screen Library contains 879 video clips of poets reading their own and other poets' work. Published in 2002, the collection features prize-winning authors such as John Ashbery, Margaret Atwood, Blake Morrison and Nicci Giovanni. Highlights include Beat poet Michael McClure on Jackson Pollock and Vietnam; poems about race and place, from Jayne Cortez's I Am New York City to Patience Agbabi's The Black, the White and the Blue via the Jamaican Dub poetry of Jean Binta Breeze.
-
Skinsplex. Native America OnlineProvides free unlimited access to movies and new media This includes SkinsPlex original programming, movies, documentaries, shorts, animation and more. Every month SkinsPlex adds ten new titles from Indigenous filmmakers. Registration required.
-
Theatre in Video
Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.
-
UbuWeb Film & VideoPresents hundreds of experiment/avant-garde films & videos in streaming format. International scope.
-
Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveCoverage: 1968 to date. Includes individual network evening news broadcasts from major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC’s Nightline. Includes commercials, searchable by brand name. Some broadcasts available via streaming video or transcripts.
-
YouTube EDUYoutube EDU has videos and channels of universities and colleges. Youtube.com also serves as a de facto repository for clips and full-length films of all kinds, including commercial releases. Some material has not been been posted legally, so content can disappear.Source: Cornell University DSOC libguide