History: A Guide to Library Research: Images

This site includes course materials, the beginnings of a systematic and searchable bibliography, and links to many on-line resources, including articles, book reviews, "Database Names", and images.

A digital collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern (1613 - 1920s) Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echol's collection many of which are housed in the Asia Rare collection.

Contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later. Read the words of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history.

This database, assembled from hundreds of primary sources, documents the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America from 1534 to 1850. The database includes prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs as well as texts.

Provides information on, and access to, the digitized version of the Library's primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.

Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Useful for historical advertising.

In progress. Based on the renowned American bibliography by Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography. Serves as the foundation for research on every aspect of 17th and 18th century American life. Includes images.