Francophone countries
Francophone Africa (online)
Current events
Afrik.com
This Paris-based website, created by black African and Maghreb-based journalists, is available in both English and French. Afrik.com is an Afrocentric news website covering current events, culture, and economics, especially focusing on Francophone Africa.
AllAfrica
One of the largest comprehensive news websites, AllAfrica provides current news (posted in English and French) from nearly 200 African news sources. The website boasts a global readership and searchable archives (reaching back to 1997) of 900,000 articles, and was formed in cooperation with the non-profit Africa News Service. News is organized by region and country, as well as topically (i.e., business, health, science, sports, etc.).
Electronic Journals and Newspapers on Africa
This website provides a broad listing of online, free-access Africa-based newspapers, organized by country. Developed by Columbia University Libraries.
Library PressDisplay (also known as PressReader) (Cornell subscription)
Current and previous 90 days of more than 5,000 international newspapers and magazines; page images of a print edition. Titles from around the world, including Cote d'Ivoire, France, Haiti, Senegal...
Research tools and information on culture, history, linguistics, literature, and politics
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
Produced by the University of Wisconsin Libraries, this website boasts many digitized primary and secondary resources (including books, images, and sound) about 45 African nations, with a good collection of resources focusing on West Africa in particular.
Africa Research Central [search Internet Archive]
A gateway to archives, libraries, and museums with important collections of African primary sources. The searchable database can be browsed by country, type of repository, and type of primary source. The website was founded in 1998 by Dr. Susan Tschabrun, Coordinator of Library Instruction at California State University, Fullerton and Dr. Kathryn Green, who is currently doing research in Africa related to archives and museums.
Africa: Country Pages
Not updated since 2010. Compiled by Dr. Ali B. Ali-Dinar of the University of Pennsylvania, this website provides numerous online resources for each African country, including World Factbook entries, maps, embassy information, Ethnologue language information, and links to news sources and other country-specific information and websites.
African Online Digital Library (AODL)
The AODL, coordinated by MATRIX (a humanities computer center) and Michigan State University, provides access to multimedia collections about Africa. Of particular interest for Francophone Africa are the features about Senegal (religious pluralism, ajami in the Senegambia) and West Africa.
Africultures
The website for the print journal of the same name, Africultures covers the arts, cinema, literature, music, theater, and other cultural topics for many African countries and other countries in the world, but focuses mainly on Francophone Africa. All 7000+ articles are available online in a searchable format, except from the last four issues. Daily updates to the website are made in French, with a monthly English version.
Afrique Francophone
A website produced by Lehman College, CUNY with a plethora of links to Francophone Africa (as well as other Africana) resources.
Afrobarometer
Afrobarometer, a research project that can be traced back to 1993, is funded by the Center for Democratic Development (Ghana), the Institute for Democracy in South Africa, and the Institute for Empirical Research in Political Economy (Benin). Afrobarometer chronicles a series of national public attitude surveys on democracy, markets, and civil society in Africa. Francophone Africa countries included are Benin, Burkina-Faso, Cape Verde, Madagascar, Mali, and Senegal.
Agence Universitaire de la Francophonie (AUF)
The AUF, based at the University of Montreal (Canada-Quebec), is an organization for academics teaching and learning in French. There are many AUF initiatives taking place to develop and support Francophone universities and research in Central and West Africa. Information regarding current events in education is frequently updated on the AUF website (written mostly in French).
Femmes Ecrivains et les Littératures Africaines
This website, available in French and English, is maintained by the University of Western Australia's French department. It provides access to literary and biographical information for female authors writing in French in sub-Saharan Africa. Archives are available dating back to 2000. Not updated since 2018.
Le Français en Afrique: Revue du Réseau des Observatoires du Français Contemporain en Afrique
Appears to have ceased in 2010. Available only in French, this journal focused on the contemporary French used in Francophone Africa.
Literature and Culture of Francophone Africa and the Diaspora [search Internet Archive]
Brown University produces this guide to online research resources of the literature and culture (dance, art, music, cinema, etc.) of Francophone Africa and the Diaspora. The website is available in both French and English.
-- Adapted from Francophone Africa, Indiana University Libraries.