For most precise searching...
... search databases individually.
![Roman Pottery from Scarborough Castle [UK].](http://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/accounts/9281/images/RomanPottery.png)
How to find articles
Find a database by browsing the list here, or on the Library home page's Databases by name or subject.
Database Tips
Databases identify and locate articles published in magazines, journals, and newspapers. Many databases also index essays, book chapters, and monographs.
Tip 1: Many databases provide full-text of journal articles.
Tip 2: If the database does not provide full-text, use Get it! Cornell or search the library catalog for the journal title (or book title). This will provide you with Cornell's holdings of the journal (in both print and electronic form).
Tip 3: For more precise searching, it is best to search the databases individually (rather than using Articles & Full Text search).
Reading scholarly articles
Recommended databases
- MLA International BibliographyThe premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
- JSTORJSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.
- Project MUSESearchable database that provides access to the full text of journals and ebooks published by university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
- Cairn.infoArticles in French (and increasingly, English translation) in humanities and social sciences, from French and Belgian publishers. Beautifully useable online interface. See Assia Djebar.
- PerseeArticles in French primarily in history and social sciences with some other humanities disciplines.
Quick Quiz
What is the difference between a scholary and a non-scholarly periodical?
Scholarly journals are only published quarterly.: 1 votes (6.67%)
The library only subscribes to scholarly publications.: 1 votes (6.67%)
Scholarly journals have boring covers.: 0 votes (0%)
Scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.: 12 votes (80%)
There is no real difference.: 1 votes (6.67%)
Total Votes: 15