Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (FGSS): A Research Guide: Primary Sources: Databases & Microform

New York: New York Public Library, 1999.
Full Text
A research guide that includes a digital collection of published works by 19th-century black women writers, biographies for each author, citations and much more. [Introduction]

Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Cengage Learning, 2016- .
Part of Gale Primary Sources and cross-searchable with all the other databases therein.
Full Text
"...a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.." [Publisher's summary]

Full Text
Contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America from 1534 to 1850. Care has been taken to index the material so that it can be used in new ways: for example, you can identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

Full Text
Aka The Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs. In the late 1800's, Dutch physician and feminist Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. By the time their successors finished their work in 1945, the Gerritsen Collection was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world, with more than 4,700 books, pamphlets and journals spanning four centuries and 15 languages. [ProQuest]

Ithaca, NY: Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University, 2003.
Full Text
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance.

Collection Guide/Full Text
What is in the Collection is an overview of the Human Sexuality Collection from Brenda Marston, the Curator.

Full Text
The Virtual Archive offers information on hundreds of women, women's organizations, and manuscript collections, along with a rich array of primary source material.

ProQuest. Full Text.
"Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications from 1954-2015 covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles - The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community." [Summary in catalog record]

A substantial list of primary sources in online archives from the Library of Congress.

Full Text/Indexes
Full-text database of letters and diaries of women who lived in North America before 1950. The collection includes about 150,000 pages of letters and diaries from Colonial times to 1950, including 7,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts. More than 1,500 biographies of the diarists and letter-writers enhance the database. Browsing and searching available for both a rich set of bibliographic fields and subjects and the complete text of these primary sources.

Full Text
Contains over sixty volumes of lyric poetry by Scottish women written between 1789 and 1832, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars. Includes a critical introduction and a bibliographical essay.

Collected by: Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation
Archived since: Dec, 2019
Popular women's magazines in the United States have long documented women's thoughts, activities, economic power, sexuality, political interests, social, cultural, and domestic life. The U.S. Women's and Girls' Magazines Web Archive consists of websites of women's media which previously existed as print magazines, but are now published solely on the web. This collection enables the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation to continue to capture and extend collections of these serial publications.

Washington: Library of Congress, 1999.
Full Text
"The NAWSA Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign. They are a subset of the Library's larger collection donated by Carrie Chapman Catt, longtime president of the National American Woman Suffrage Association, in November of 1938. The collection includes works from the libraries of other members and officers of the organization including: Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Susan B. Anthony, Lucy Stone, Alice Stone Blackwell, Julia Ward Howe, Elizabeth Smith Miller, Mary A. Livermore." [Home page]
A searchable full-text collection, part of the American Memory project. Includes a timeline and a selected bibliography.

ProQuest.
The full text online of the following women's magazines and years
Better Homes and Gardens (July 1922 - December 2005)
Chatelaine (March 1928 - December 2005)
Good Housekeeping (2 May 1885 - December 2005)
Ladies' Home Journal (December 1885 - December 2005)
Parents (October 1926 - December 2005)
Redbook (November 1903 - December 2005)
Cosmopolitan (1886-2005)
Note: Cosmopolitan merged with Hearst's International in 1925. The merged title was known for several years as Hearst's International. Combined with Cosmopolitan before reverting to the title Cosmopolitan.
Essence (1970-2005)
Seventeen (1944-2005)
Town and Country (1846-2005)
Woman's Day (1937-2005)
Women's International Network News (1975-September 2003)

Farmington Hills, MI: Gale Cengage Learning, 2017- .
Part of Gale Primary Sources and cross-searchable with all the other databases therein.
Full Text
"[T]his collection traces the path of women's issues from past to present--pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more... [and focuses] on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century." [Publishers' website].

Kathryn Sklar and Thomas Dublin, editors. Scholar's edition. Alexandria, VA: Alexander Street Press; Binghamton, NY: Center for the Historical Study of Women and Gender at the State University of New York, Binghamton.
Full Text
The Scholar's Edition includes all features of the Basic Edition that have been published since March 2004. It currently includes 72 document projects with 2,100 documents, 28,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and 1,600 primary authors. It includes as well book, film and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools. This edition also includes the Women's Commission reports collection, an archive of the publications and documents of local, state, and federal Commissions on the Status of Women from 1963 to the present.
The Scholar's Edition also includes the full text of the complete five volumes of Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary, available for the first time in electronic form.

Microform Collection & Guide; (Library Annex Film 7025; 5 reels)
Film 7025 consists of five reels of microfilm. A printed guide to this collection is available on the microform guide shelves in Olin Library, 5th floor, north wall. An online guide to the microfilm contents from Adam Matthew is also available.
This collection is a vital source of primary documents on this important partnership and the literary circle that they created. Known as the Hamwood Papers, formerly in the possession of the Hamilton family of Hamwood, Dunboyne, co Meath, they are extensive. Valuable for anyone writing on Romantic Friendship, the Gothic Pastoral Ideal, 18th Century Literary Circles and the Romantic Movement.

Marlborough [England]: Adam Matthew Publications, 2000- .
(Library Annex Film 8263; parts 1-2 = reels 1-26)
Microform Collection & Guide
For details, see Microfilm Guide 8263 on the microform guide in Olin Library, 5th floor, north wall.

[Marlborough, Wilshire, England]: Adam Matthew Publications, [1998].
(Library Annex Film 7084; Part 1, 15 reels)
Microform Collection
Sources from the Bodleian Library, Oxford, and the Wellcome Institute for the History of Medicine, London. This series sets out to provide the raw material for the dialogue already started by Roy Porter and Lesley Hall in The Facts of Life: The Creation of Sexual Knowledge in Britain, 1650-1950. Editor's Introduction to Part 1.

Woodbridge, CT: Primary Source Microfilm, 2001- .
(Library Annex Film 8256; 298 reels)
Microform Collection & Guide
The title link (above) is to the catalog record for this set.
Filmed from the holdings of the Human Sexuality Collection, Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library, which owns the original material. "The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force collection consists of correspondence, press clippings, financial and administrative records, subject files, and photographs that, taken together, provide a broad overview of the American movement for lesbian and gay civil rights from 1973 to 2000." [From the Collection Overview, p. xii, of the extensive 343-page guide--Olin film 8256 guide, shelved on the north wall, 5th floor, Olin Library--which documents the collection.]