Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (FGSS): A Research Guide: Annotated Bibliographies & Lists

Book titles currently in print are selected by academic librarians who volunteer to maintain a subject area. The project assists librarians in building Women & Gender Studies collections and can also serve as a guide to instructional faculty in selecting available course readings. Core titles are generally considered to be books that a library supporting an undergraduate or master’s degree in Women’s Studies and/or Gender Studies should own. Each list maintainer also selects the titles that are considered “essential” in that subject area. The Core Books database is updated throughout the year.

Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1995.
Olin Library Reference PN 4879 .W6 1995
"Bibliography of women's consumer magazines, both current and historical. The volume includes approximately 75 essay-length annotations, each of which also details the complete publication history and suggests sources for further information." [Guide to Reference]

Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1996.
Olin Library Reference PN 4879 .W614x 1996
"Annotated bibliography of 76 leading women's periodicals of social, political, and economic reform movements published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Lengthy annotations discuss the historical context of the profiled publications and include additional information sources and complete publication histories. Excludes consumer magazines." [Guide to Reference]

London: Harvester Press, 1987.
"Informed, critical and very useful. The term feminist is rather broadly interpreted for the earlier years." [from Feminist and Women's Periodicals at Stanford]

Revised ed. New York: Routledge, 2002.
Entries for gay and lesbian authors from the classical period to the present.

New York: G. K. Hall, 1996.
An annotated bibliography of over 1900 publications on the gay and lesbian social mvoement from 1969 to 1993.

2nd ed. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1994.
More than a thousand entries that cover such subjects as men's awareness, health, and rights; heterosexuality; homosexuality; minority males; patriarchy; fathers; socialization of males; sports; the arts; humor; war and peace; and victims and victimizers. An extensive list of books from the controversial mythopoetic wing of men's studies covers such works as Robert Bly's Iron John. Each entry is fully annotated and describes the book's content and (where appropriate) its political stance.

Boston: G. K. Hall, 1987. (G. K. Hall women's studies publications).
Arranged in chronological order by the initial date of composition. Limited to diaries and letters of American women writing in the United States. There are nine titles in CUL in this series (G. K. Hall women's studies publications), seven are women's studies bibliographies published in the 1980s. Searching the series name as a title in the Cornell Library Catalog will pull up the list of the remaining titles.

Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998.
"An attempt to guide the reader through the mass of published work on women and gender to date.... The purpose ... is to provide the reader with discussions of some of the best books on over 500 topics and individuals in women's studies.... Only books available in English are listed." [from Editor's Note].

2 volumes. Westport: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Volume one covers social issues; volume two covers labor.

New York: Greenwood, 1990.
The compilers identified and annotated 637 works by women and an additional 973 titles for and about women from Wing's classic Short-title Catalogue covering 1641-1700. The full text of the works cited in this bibliography are available in Early English Books Online.

In association with the State Historical Society of Wisconsin. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1982.
"A [historical] bibliography with library holdings of 1,461 publications, many of which are newspapers. Still relevant because of the extensive newspaper holdings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin and the reputation Danky and Hady have for high-quality newspaper bibliography." [Guide to Reference]