ENGL 3250: Virginia Woolf (Fall 2020): Primary Sources

"Offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1595 to 1947." User's guide

Formerly known as 19th Century Masterfile. Searchable index to a variety of 19th century Anglo-American periodical articles, documents and other primary and secondary sources published before 1930. Many links to full text. Aggregates indexes to books, periodicals, newspapers, government documents and patents into a single resource.

A fully searchable database that provides the full text of periodical articles published in Britain from the 1680s to the 1930s. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences, literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Historical archive full color digitized images of the complete run from 1842-2003 of illustrated newspaper. This database includes full-text searching of articles and captions and issues can be browsed.

Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

Database coverage begins with the Sunday times, issued October 20, 1822-December 24, 1903; The Sunday special, issued January 3, 1904-January 24, 1904; The Sunday times and Sunday special, issued January 31, 1904-January 4, 1931; and Sunday times, January 11, 1931-December 31, 2006. Includes the Sunday times magazine, issued February, 1962.

An essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials. Coverage is most extensive for Great Britain; but there is also a fair range of materials for the U.S.A.