Literature Reference Sources
A Glossary of Literary Terms by Call Number: Olin Reference PN41 A184 2015Publication Date: Cengage Learning, 2015First published fifty years ago, A GLOSSARY OF LITERARY TERMS remains an essential text for all serious students of literature. Now fully updated to reflect the latest scholarship on recent and rapidly evolving critical theories, the 11th edition contains a complete glossary of essential literary terms presented as a series of engaging essays that explore the terms, place them in context, and suggest related entries and additional reading.
Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary TheoryCall Number: Olin Library Reference PN98.W64 E53 2009Publication Date: Routledge, 2009"Provides overviews of key people, issues, theories, terms, concerns, and methodologies in feminist literary theory. Entries detail the significance of literary periods and fields such as Medieval Studies, Shakespeare, and Romanticism for feminist theory, suggesting how feminisms affect the development of new ideas and intellectual practices." Includes bibliographies. (publisher)
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCall Number: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005+Publication Date: 2004Contains signed, in-depth overviews of the major schools of literary theory. Available online and in print.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006Publication Date: 2006"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.
Oxford English DictionaryCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PE1625 M98The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology.
- Gale LiteratureA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual
information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes both textual and visual material from the Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.
- Cambridge History of Literary CriticismPublication Date: Cambridge University PressContents: v. 1. Classical criticism / edited by George A. Kennedy -- v. 3. The Renaissance / edited by Glyn P. Norton -- v. 4. Eighteenth century / edited by H.B. Nisbet and Claude Rawson -- v. 5. Romanticism / edited by Marshall Brown -- v. 7. Modernism and the new criticism / edited by A. Walton Litz, Louis Menand, and Lawrence Rainey -- v. 8. From formalism to poststructuralism / edited by Raman Selden -- v. 9. Twentieth-century historical, philosophical and psychological perspectives / edited by Christa Knellwolf and Christopher Norris.
Some Reference Works on Virginia Woolf
The Cambridge Companion to Virginia WoolfISBN: 9780521896948Publication Date: Cambridge UP, 2010Includes chapters on race, nation and empire, sexuality, aesthetics, visual culture and the public sphere.
The Cambridge Introduction to Virginia WoolfPublication Date: Cambridge UP, 2006An introduction to Woolf's life, works, and cultural and critical contexts, explaining the importance of the Bloomsbury group in the development of her work. It covers the major works in detail, including To the Lighthouse, Mrs Dalloway, The Waves and the key short stories.
A Companion to Virginia WoolfPublication Date: Wiley, 2016A Companion to Virginia Woolf is a thorough examination of her life, work, and multiple contexts in 33 essays written by leading scholars in the field. Approaches Woolf's writing from a variety of perspectives and disciplines, including modernism, post-colonialism, queer theory, animal studies, digital humanities, and the law.
The Edinburgh Companion to Virginia Woolf and the ArtsPublication Date: Edinburgh UP, 2010A guide to Virginia Woolf's artistic influences and associations.In original, extensive and newly researched chapters by internationally recognised authors.
The Cambridge Companion to the Bloomsbury GroupPublication Date: Cambridge UP, 2014Offers a comprehensive guide to the intellectual and social contexts surrounding Bloomsbury and its coterie, which includes writer Virginia Woolf, economist Maynard Keynes, and art critic Roger Fry, among others.
Need a Substantive Bibliography?
Nothing gets your research off to a good start like a substantive, scholarly bibliography. Oxford Bibliographies provide excellent, scholar-curated bibliographies of academic books and articles in a variety of subject areas.
Oxford Bibliographies British and Irish literature
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on British and Irish literature. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Reference Sources in Women's Studies
Encyclopedia of gender and societyCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference HQ1115 E54 2009+Publication Date: Sage, 20092 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of WomenCall Number: Olin Reference, HQ 1115.R69x 2000 (also Mann Reference)"Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory..." [publisher]Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference HQ1180 .W55 2016Publication Date: 2016"The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. "
