Primary Sources (Print publications)
- Popular Culture in Britain and America 1950-1975.Popular Culture explores the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975. The resource offers thousands of colour images of manuscript and rare printed material as well as photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from this exciting period in our recent history.
- Entertainment industry magazine archive"An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews."--Publisher description.
- The SixtiesThis searchable database brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. The database covers subjects in arts, music, and leisure, civil rights, counter-culture, law and government, mass media, new left and emerging neo-conservative movement, student activism, Vietnam War, women's movement, etc.
- Rock's BackpagesRock reviews, articles and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers these areas: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersThis database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
Primary Sources (Music)
- YouTubeThough its original intent was to "allow billions of people to discover, watch and share originally-created videos," YouTube has become a de facto repository for clips and films of all kinds, including commercial releases. Some material has not been been posted legally, so content can disappear.
- Internet Archive
An amazing free repository of books, hard-to-find periodicals, full-length films, television broadcasts, advertising -- anything that can be uploaded.
Cornell's Punk Rock Collection
Cornell Library’s Punk Collections, part of the Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections. contain hundreds of fliers and posters, more than 1,500 fanzines, along with sound recordings, clothing, photographs, and original art documenting Punk’s regional interpretations and influences both nationally and internationally. View the Punkfest Cornell: Anarchy in the Archives exhibition to get a taste what lies seething under the seemingly placid facade of the Kroch Library.