ENGL 2880.105: Cool Britannia (Fall 2023): FInd Background

A comprehensive reference about the Fab Four contains fifteen hundred entries--on everything from Abbey Road to the Zodiac Club--and includes intimate gossip, detailed biographies, and rare photographs.

The history of the Beatles, from their formative years through the present day, as detailed in hundreds of entries.

This encyclopedia chronicles the history and development of punk, including sub-movements such as Hardcore, Post-punk, Queercore, and Emo, to provide readers with an extensive overview of the music, fashion, films, and philosophies behind it.

Signed entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance.

"Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." Table of contents.

Includes discussions of all the fundamental issues in Tolkien scholarship written by the leading scholars in the field. Coverage not only presents the most recent scholarship on J. R. R. Tolkien, but also introduces and explores the author and scholar's life and work within their historical and cultural contexts.

3 volumes. An in-depth reference to Tolkien's life and works provides brief alphabetical entries on a wide range of topics that encompass the author's source materials, synopses of his writings, a chronology, analysis of his characters, and the personal and historical influences on his writings.

Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.