Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Olin Reference Collection
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- educating yourself quickl
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, terminology
Reference Sources on American Literature
Asian American Literature: an Encyclopedia for Students
Publication Date: Greenwood, 2021
Includes articles about Asian American literary and cultural history as well as the authors and texts that best define it. Essays include the origins and development of the term "Asian American"; overviews of Asian American and Asian Canadian social and literary histories; essays on Asian American identity, gender issues, and sexuality; and discussions of Asian American rhetoric and children's literature. More than 120 alphabetical entries round out the volume covering important Asian North American authors.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Call Number: Print: Olin Reference PS21 E537 2004 +
Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2004
4 vols. Contains essays on US poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists. Figures such as Whitman, Melville, and Morrison are discussed in detail and examined in the context of his or her times, with an assessment of the writer's current reputation, a bibliography of major works, and a list of major critical and biographical works about the writer.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture
Publication Date: Oxford UP. 2020
More than one hundred original and in-depth articles survey the historical foundations of this rich field, showing the exciting and profound new directions that currently drive the study of Asian American literary and cultural traditions.
Gale Literature Resource Center
A literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
Routledge Companion to Latino/a Literature
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PS153.H56 R68 2013 +
Publication Date: Routledge, 2012
Presents over forty essays by leading and emerging international scholars of Latino/a literature. Includes one on Latino/a science fiction (essay #33).
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature
Call Number: Olin Library Reference PS 153 .M56 G74 2005 +
Publication Date: 2005
5 vols. Included are more than 1100 alphabetically arranged entries by more than 300 scholars. While most of the entries are biographical, others cover genres, ethnic stereotypes, seminal works, significant places, major historical events, key pieces of legislation, and other topics.
Reference Sources in Other Disciplines
Race, Ethnicity & Gender Reference Sources
Asian American Society: an Encyclopedia
Publication Date: Sage, 2014
Articles by scholars in the field examine the social, cultural, psychological, economic, and political dimensions of the Asian American experience. Approximately 200 annotated primary documents, organized chronologically, detail the impact American society has had on reshaping Asian American identities and social structures over time.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society
Publication Date: 2008
Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.
Oxford African American Studies Center
Scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Features articles by top scholars in the field, images, primary sources with specially written commentaries, maps,charts and tables, and biographies.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference E184.S75 O97 2005
Publication Date: 2005
4 vols. More than 900 articles that draw together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Reference Sources in Gender Studies
Encyclopedia of gender and society
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference HQ1115 E54 2009+
Publication Date: Sage, 2009
2 volumes; Focuses on significant gender scholarship within commonly recognized areas of social research.
SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies
Publication Date: Sage, 2021
This encyclopedia, featuring more than 300 well-researched articles, takes an interdisciplinary and intersectional approach to trans studies. Entries focus on diverse lives, identities, and contexts, including the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries.
Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference HQ1180 .W55 2016
Publication Date: 2016
"The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. "