ENGL 1168.103: Cultures of the U.S. Empire (Spring 2025): Find Background

Presents the prominent themes, epochal events, theoretical explanations, and historical accounts of imperialism from 1776 to the present.

The more than 450 entries in this work examine our shared history "from the bottom up," with entries on the westward movement of settlers and farmers in the 18th and 19th centuries, labor history, women's suffrage, counterculture, consumption patterns, population movements, racial divides, etc.

Covers the period from 1492 to the present, including the dynamics of European conquest from Columbus to China, and critiques of colonialism. Entries are written by leading scholars in the field.

Includes topical, event, and biographical entries; a chronology and comprehensive bibliography; and primary documents.

Decolonization is the term commonly used to refer to this transition from a world of colonial empires to a world of nation-states in the years after World War II. This work demonstrates that this process involved considerable violence and instability.

Explores the importance and impact of race, ethnicity and nationalism on private, public and not-for-profit organizations and institutions in the modern, global world. In addition to covering basic terms and concepts, the encyclopedia also includes essays that incorporate discussion and analysis of new developments in the field.

Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.

3 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.

Brings together thirty-four original chapters from international experts that address key features of contemporary racisms. The Handbook has a global orientation and covers contemporary racisms in both the western and non-western geopolitical environments.