Encyclopedias Online: Use Subject Encyclopedias to Understand Your Topic: Arts & Humanities

Number of Titles in Collection: 435+ total titles; 191 encyclopedias
Subject Strengths: History, Literature; Language and Linguistics; Religion, Mythology and Folklore; Music; Philosophy; Performing Arts

Separate, serially-updated online encyclopedias. Cornell currently has full OREs for twelve subjects: African History, American History, Asian History, Classical Studies, Latin American History, Literature, and Religion in the humanities; Linguistics, Politics, and Psychology in the social sciences; and Climate Science and Global Public Health in the sciences.
Important: Clicking the Available and Free boxes under "Modify your search" will provide access to hundreds of articles in the ORE titles we have not yet purchased!

Titles included and updated:
Grove Art Online (About Grove Art);
Benezit Dictionary of Artists;
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition);
Oxford Companion to Western Art;
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms; and
links to ArtSTOR images.

Titles included and updated:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (29 volumes, 2001);
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (3 volumes, 2002);
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (4 volumes, 1992);
The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers (1 volume, 1994);
The Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd edition (8 volumes, 2013; in process);
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd edition (5 volumes, 2014; in process) and
The Grove Music Guide to American Film Music (2019)

Number of Arts and Humanities Titles in Collection: 34 titles out of 80+
Subject Strengths: Classics; Ethics; History; Language and Linguistics; Literature; Religion

Number of Titles in Collection: 47 titles
Subject Strengths: Religion and Islam in particular; Classical Studies

Number of Arts and Humanities Titles in Collection: 56 titles
Subject Strengths: History; Religion; Ethnic Studies; Literature; Film

Subject Strengths: Literature