Sources for Contemporaneous Film Reviews
The following databases contain or index film reviews from a range of periodical and newspaper sources, particularly from the early to late 20th century.
- Entertainment industry magazine archive"An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews."--Publisher description.
- Media History Digital LibrarySearchable, full-text collection of vintage film periodicals now in the public domain, scanned from private collections. Coverage ranges from the 1910s through the 1970s. Includes both popular and trade publications, such as Photoplay, Motion Picture News, Close Up, Journal of the Society of Motion Picture Engineers, and more.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersThis database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files. The database is an ongoing project.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers these areas: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982.
The Uris DVD Collection
The DVD collection is located in Uris Library's Dean Room. Uris also has DVD and Blu-ray players as well as VCRs and audiocassette players.
