Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Film Encyclopedias, Guides, and Dictionaries
Cinema Studies: the Key ConceptsCall Number: Current (2018) print edition: Olin PN1993.45 .H36 2018Publication Date: Routledge, 20002nd. edition. 150 entries explore a wide range of genres, movements, theories and production terms with depth and clarity.
Critical Dictionary of Film and Television TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN1993.45 C75x 2001 +Publication Date: 2001"Explains the major theoretical approaches and definitions now deployed in the study of screen media. Entries range from longer overview essays which summarise the central paradigms of film and television theory, to shorter definitions of key concepts and introductions to major influential figures." (jacket copy) Includes cross-references, bibliographies, and index.Dictionary of Film Terms
Call Number: Olin Reference PN1993.45 B33 2007Publication Date: Peter Lang, 2007.Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
International Dictionary of Films and FilmmakersCall Number: Online (click on title above); also Olin Reference PN 1993.45 I61 2000 (print copy)Publication Date: 2000Vol. I of this four-volume set lists and describes approximately 650 international and historical films. Descriptions include production information, a cast list, a plot summary, an essay of the film's place in film history, and a lengthy bibliography. Vols. II-IV focus on Directors/Filmmakers, Actors and Actresses, and Writers and Production Assistants.
Queer Encyclopedia of Film and TelevisionCall Number: Olin Reference PN1590 G39 Q44 2005 +Publication Date: 2005Drawn from the online encyclopaedia of queer arts and culture - www.glbtq.com. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics, people, films, and television shows from an LGBTQ perspective. Each entry contains a bibliography.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Film TheoryCall Number: Olin Reference PN1995 R6855 2014+Publication Date: Routledge, 2013An international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the centre of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century, to the beginning of the twenty-first. Signed articles by 50 scholars from around the globe address the difficult formulations and propositions in each theory by reducing these difficult formulations to straightforward propositions.
Routledge Encyclopedia of FilmsCall Number: Olin Reference PN1995 R6857 2015 +Publication Date: Routledge, 2015Comprises 200 essays by leading film scholars analyzing the most important, influential, innovative and interesting films of all time. Arranged alphabetically, each entry explores why each film is significant for those who study film and explores the social, historical and political contexts in which the film was produced.
Need a Substantive Bibliography?
Nothing gets your research off to a good start like a substantive, scholarly bibliography. Oxford Bibliographies provide excellent, scholar-curated bibliographies of academic books and articles in a variety of subject areas. For film studies, see:
Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media StudiesProvides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Multi-disciplinary Refererence sources
- Oxford Reference Online
- Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
- Sage Reference Online
- A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging & gerontology, anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, social issues, social work and social policy, and sociology, and urban studies and planning.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
- This thoroughly re-envisioned New Dictionary of the History of Ideas brings fresh intelligence and a global perspective to bear on timeless questions about the individual and society. A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.
How to Read Citations
Learning how to interpret citations you find in scholarly books and articles is a critical research skill and essential to efficiently finding the material you need for your assignments. Watch this video to learn how.