Using Web of Science
Need to find highly cited scholarly articles on nearly any topic? Try searching Web of Science, an important and useful multidisciplinary scholarly database. See the Web of Science tutorial!
- Web of ScienceChoosing "All Databases" allows you to search an index of journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
VIDEO: Searching Communication & Mass Media Complete
This video from UTS Library gives a brief introduction to how Communication & Mass Media Complete works. Note that our explanation of how to find databases on the library website differs and our links to full text are called Get it! Cornell.
Other Useful Databases
Top Communication Journals
Top Databases
Here are other top, mostly scholarly, databases in this subject area.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for more than 550 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 737 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 440 journals.
- Communication AbstractsComprehensively covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources on a world-wide scale. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers, such as international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
- PsycINFOContains citations and summaries of the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology and intervention, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, and treatment and prevention.
Finding Journals in Your Field
Looking for all journals in your field that we subscribe to?
- Go to the library website and search the catalog for your subject
- Use the filters to narrow your format to Journal
- Choose a title and look for the subject heading (e.g. Communication -- Periodicals.)
Checking to see if the journal is your field?
- Search for the journal title in the library catalog and check the subject headings (or the About page if it's an online journal)
Need to see which journals are important in your field?
- Go to the library website and choose Databases
- Enter Journal Citation Reports and click on the title (you can also access it from within Web of Science by choosing the title from the top menu bar)
- Choose your field and year and view journal data sorted by Impact Factor. Those with the highest impact factor are often influential in the field.
Looking for a particular ejournal title?
- Go to the library website and choose E-journal Titles
- Search or browse for the title. This will find online journals with your keywords in the title.
- To find all journals in your subject area that we subscribe to, search for the Subject heading (e.g. Communication -- Periodicals.)