Skip to main content

Tutorial: Finding Databases

Databases vs. Articles & Full Text

Why should I search a particular database when I can search most databases using Articles & Full Text?

  • Databases can offer more precision and advanced search tools and features not available using Articles & Full Text (e.g. ways to narrow your search using types of material or special features like Web of Science's citation indexes)
  • Avoid things outside your area of interest using a subject or specialty database
  • Not all databases are included in Articles & Full Text (especially data and image databases)

Finding databases in your subject area using the Databases link

Need to do a more comprehensive or in-depth search? Not sure where to start? Browse or search for our top subject databases by name or keyword using the Databases* link under the main search box (or try the catalog to find all databases)! 

Also try our Library Guides to find resources for your specific subject or course!

databases from main search page

*Databases are collections of articles (or other materials), either general or subject-specific, which often include material not available on the open Web and give you additional tools for more comprehensive or precise searching.

NOTE: The Articles & Full Text link will search within most of the article databases (and ebooks) Cornell has access to; however, the Databases link only finds the titles of specific databases, not their contents.

Library Website

NOTE: From the main search box at library.cornell.edu, you can also search for database titles.

search for Web of Science from main search box

In your results, we'll suggest Best Bets that most closely match your search from our top databases or click on Databases to jump to a list of databases that match your search. Click on the database title to enter it and start searching.

Best bet suggestions on results page