Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Literary Reference Sources
- Gale Literature Resource CenterA literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary authors, Dictionary of literary biography, and Contemporary literary criticism. Provides additional search capability for Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of literature and Gale literary index.
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.The Routledge Companion to Literature and Food
Publication Date: Routledge, 2018Explores the relationship between food and literature in transnational contexts, serving as both an introduction and a guide to the field in terms of defining characteristics and development.
Russian Literature: a Very Short IntroductionPublication Date: Oxford University Press, 2001Rather than a conventional chronology of Russian literature, the book explores the place and importance of literature of all sorts in Russian culture. It looks at such questions as why Russian writers are venerated, how they've been interpreted inside Russia and beyond, and the influences of such things as the folk tale tradition, orthodox religion, and the West.
Reference Sources for Russian Culture and History
Use authoritative dictionaries and reference sources.
Wikipedia might be a handy tool in some cases, but it's not what your professors would call a reliable or authoritative reference source. The library resources listed below provide access to scholarly information on a range of subjects. Use the Library's Research Guides to find many more.
Encyclopedia of Russian HistoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference DK14 .E53x 2004 +Publication Date: Thomson/Gale, 2004"Features entries by experts on all aspects of Russian history, including biographical figures, geographical areas, ethnographic groups, cultural landmarks, military campaigns, and social issues."
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Russian CultureCall Number: Olin Reference DK510.32 .E53 2007Publication Date: Routledge, 2007Covers the period from 1953 to the present day. 'Russian' refers to the Soviet Union until 1991 and the Russian Federation after 1991. Questions of national, regional, and ethnic identity are given special attention. 'Culture' embraces high and popular, artistic and material.
Encyclopedia of Russian and Slavic Myth and Legend by Call Number: Olin Reference BL930 .D58x 1998 + (also Olin stacks)Publication Date: ABC-Clio, 1998Online version through HathiTrust. comprehensive guide in English to the myth and legend of the Russian Empire and other Slavic countries and peoples. Illustrated.
Encyclopedias on Food and Culture
Encyclopedia of Food and CultureCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference GT2850 .E53x 2003 +Publication Date: Scribner, 2003Presents articles on food and its place in human culture and society, including entries on topics from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.
Food Cultures of the World EncyclopediaCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference GT2850 .F655 2011 +ISBN: 9780313376269Publication Date: Greenwood, 2011Introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world. More than 100 expert contributors . Includes an index that facilitates cross-cultural comparison
Some Basic Research Tools
And still more alternatives to Wikipedia!
Multidisciplinary Reference Sources
- Oxford Reference Online
- Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- Sage Reference Online
- A database of reference books published by SAGE, including such areas as African American studies, aging & anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, sociology, and urban studies and planning.