Sources for Recent Circulation Statistics
- Media Intelligence CenterTry this database first. Circulation and readership statistics for over 2,800 North American magazines and newspapers from first quarter of 2011 to date. The most detailed source of circulation statistics, including both online and print formats. Larger newspapers have average daily circulation figures for print copies as well as online readership counts and website usage. For a good example of the detailed information available, search Times Union and click on the Albany NY title.
- euro|topics media pageClick on the Show Media Landscapes bar and choose a country. The Media Search section at the bottom shows both print circulation and the range of online visits for each news source listed.
- FactivaChoose SearchBuilder and click the triangle in the Source field. Use the search box to find the title. The resulting popup information window includes circulation statistics for many newspaper titles. The circulation number is usually followed by this note: "The circulation figure is the average number of copies distributed Monday-Friday for print editions. It is verified annually by Dow Jones using authoritative sources."
- Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast MediaCall Number: Olin Reference Z 6951 .A97(Annual publication. Online. Latest print edition is shelved behind Olin Reference desk.)
International coverage. Circulation data given for many titles; sources of circulation data indicated.
Previous editions (1990 through the next-to-latest volume) located in the Library Annex.
For earlier editions, click the Historical tab in this guide. Previous versions, usually called some variation of the Ayer Directory, contain circulation numbers going back to the late 19th century.
Locate the Statement of Ownership, Management, and Circulation that appears within the magazine itself, printed annually, usually in December or in the last issue for a given calendar year. It may appear among advertisements in the front or the back pages of a magazine.
- Leadership ConnectFrom the Leadership Connect home page, click on the Build a List tab. Click the Media Outlet Circulation link and enter a numerical range likely to include the media source you want a circulation number for. Click on an entry from the resulting list of media organizations. Most recent circulation data only. "Circulation data is available for newspapers and periodicals, and reflects the largest reported circulation figure. For newspapers, this figure typically represents Sunday circulation." [--Note on the Media Outlet Circulation search window.]
- Magazines for LibrariesCall Number: See Catalog Record for call number and location.New York: Bowker, 1969 to date. Print version only. Annual publication.
An annotated listing by subject of over 6,000 periodicals. Circulation data given for some titles; source of data not indicated.
Each entry contains the periodical title; beginning publication date; publisher; editor; address; price; and the indexing, size, and level of audience. Short abstracts describe the scope, political slant, and other aspects of the publication. Arrangement is topical, bringing magazines and journals on like subjects together. To find an individual title, use the title index at the end of the volume.
See also the Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media above.
If you wish to use or adapt any or all of the content of this Guide go to Cornell Library's Research Guides Use Conditions to review our use permissions and our Creative Commons license.