Cider Industry Guide: Books

Cider apples of Somerset

Calvados, the incomparable pear and apple-based brandy from Normandy, France, has a history dating back nearly 500 years. While not as well-known as Cognac or Armagnac, Calvados holds a dear place in the hearts of many spirits lovers. In this comprehensive study, famed spirits writer and author Charles Neal, takes the reader on a back road voyage throughout northern France, from mount Saint Michel to Rouen to Omaha beach and the small, hidden hamlets of the Orne. The history of the region and its distinctiveness in France are fully defined and all of the factors that go into making quality Calvados are explained, from the various soil types, apple and pear varieties, and cider production to its distillation and aging in barrel. Complete with biographies and reviews of more than 200 producers and illustrated with lush, evocative photography of the Norman countryside, Calvados is an indispensable guide for the serious spirits connoisseur and nectar for Francophile souls.

The official textbook for the Foundation Certificate in Cider and Perry Production.

Making cider, by the Cornell University Department of Food Science and Technology

Cider is the new thing in today's drinking world, even though it's been around for centuries. In spite of its long and colorful history, cider has remained relatively underappreciated by the American public. The purchase in 2012 of a Vermont-based cidermaker for over $300 million signaled that this is all likely to change very soon.Richly informative and entertaining, Cider, Hard and Sweet is your go-to source for everything related to apples, cider, and ciderm aking. It includes great information on apple varieties, cidermaking basics, barrel fermentation, and recipes for cooking with cider--with instructions for making boiled cider and cider jelly, and recipes for dishes with cider braises and marinades. It also teaches readers how to recognize a good cider and takes you from buying store-bought to making the genuine article at home.

All around the world, the public’s taste for fermented cider has been growing more rapidly than at any time in the past 150 years. And with the growing interest in locally grown and artisanal foods, many new cideries are springing up all over North America, often started up by passionate amateurs who want to take their cider to the next level as small-scale craft producers. To make the very best cider—whether for yourself, your family, and friends or for market—you first need a deep understanding of the processes involved, and the art and science behind them. Fortunately,The New Cider Maker’s Handbook is here to help. Author Claude Jolicoeur is an internationally known, award-winning cider maker with an inquiring, scientific mind. His book combines the best of traditional knowledge and techniques with up-to-date, scientifically based practices to provide today’s cider makers with all the tools they need to produce high-quality ciders. The New Cider Maker’s Handbook is divided into five parts containing: An accessible overview of the cider making process for beginners; Recommendations for selecting and growing cider-appropriate apples; Information on juice-extraction equipment and directions on how to build your own grater mill and cider press; A discussion of the most important components of apple juice and how these may influence the quality of the cider; An examination of the fermentation process and a description of methods used to produce either dry or naturally sweet cider, still or sparkling cider, and even ice cider. This book will appeal to both serious amateurs and professional cider makers who want to increase their knowledge, as well as to orchardists who want to grow cider apples for local or regional producers. Novices will appreciate the overview of the cider-making process, and, as they develop skills and confidence, the more in-depth technical information will serve as an invaluable reference that will be consulted again and again. This book is sure to become the definitive modern work on cider making. A mechanical engineer by profession, Claude Jolicoeur first developed his passion for apples and cider after acquiring a piece of land on which there were four rows of old abandoned apple trees. He started making cider in 1988 using a “no-compromise” approach, stubbornly searching for the highest possible quality. Since then, his ciders have earned many awards and medals at competitions, including a Best of Show at the prestigious Great Lakes International Cider and Perry Competition (GLINTCAP). Claude actively participates in discussions on forums like the Cider Digest, and is regularly invited as a guest speaker to events such as the annual Cider Days festival in western Massachusetts. He lives in Quebec City.

In this book, Jacobsen collected specimens both common and rare from all over North America, selecting 120 to feature, including the best varieties for eating, baking, and hard-cider making. Each is accompanied by a photograph, history, lore, and a list of characteristics. The book also includes 20 recipes, savory and sweet, resources for buying and growing, and a guide to the best apple festivals. It's a must-have for every foodie.

Calvados is one of the best-kept secrets in the world of fine spirit. This unique French apple brandy is carefully distilled from dry cider made from special apple varieties, aged in French Oak barrels then blended and bottled for the connoisseur. This book is a first in comprehensive reporting on the delicate apple brandy called calvados. Features include: All the facts, details and background combined with beautiful pictures and illustrations, the fascinating story; its myths and secrets, the different types of calvados, how they are made and what they taste like, how to taste, judge and enjoy this unique spirit, A phone and address directory of the producers complete with a map, tasting notes, food and cigar pairing, drinks, recipes and a gastronomic tour guide are included.

The West Country is justly famous for its wide variety of delicious ciders. Over the last thirty years there has been a quiet revolution in the area with a steady growth in cider producers, from small, local companies to well-established outfits pumping out millions of gallons a year. In this book, James Crowden charts the development of cider making in the West Country, from the sixteenth century monks to the diverse industry of today. Crowden takes us on a tour around the beautiful and fragrant West Country orchards, outlining the differing manufacturing methods, and investigates the differences between a farm-house cider and an industrially manufactured one. He shows how the best cider makers translate their passion into the process and treat each different batch of cider like winemakers would a vintage. He also takes a look at the rise of perry making and profiles the companies dedicated to getting the best out of the West Country pears. Ciderland includes comprehensive summaries and descriptions of every cider and cider producer in the West Country and covers topics such as cider folk traditions and remedies, placing cider making firmly within the local culture.

The Everything Hard Cider Book takes you step by step into the fermentation and bottling process, with tips on finding the proper equipment, sourcing ingredients, varying flavors, and creating unique packaging. You'll also find advice on advanced techniques, like evaluating the finished product, varying recipes for your own taste, and even growing fruit for cider. And with thirty-five essential and adaptable recipes for apple and other fruit ciders, you'll find everything you need to make your own distinctive and delicious beverages.

You'll gain an insider’s look at how to: Analyze craft products, their distinct challenges, and dynamic market; Write a winning business plan that promotes growth and secures funding; Keep overhead low and margins high with options like self-distribution; Capture customers and create evangelists with the story behind the brand; Enhance the brand experience with events, taprooms, tastings, and tours; Develop invaluable relationships with distributors and restaurants.

With the craft "hard cider" market growing rapidly, it's clear that drinkers are embracing this refreshing alternative to beer. World's Best Ciders taps into that trend, presenting more than 500 ciders from both artisan makers and global brands. Featuring in-depth explanations and tasting notes, it reveals all you need to know about the cider-making process, producers, and breweries across the globe. Recipes for cider-based dishes complete this phenomenal guide. .

This book is for anyone who wants to grow and to make good cider or even simple apple juice. Whether you have a back garden with a couple of apple trees, several acres of orchard deep in the countryside, or you're just 'getting apples from friends and neighbors every autumn, this book is for you. Here you can learn about the equipment you need, the techniques to use and just how they work as they do. You'll also learn what to do when things go wrong, and how to put them right! Packed with a wealth of practical experience and understanding, "Craft Cidermaking" is for beginners and old hands alike

Fermented Beverage Production, Second Edition is an essential resource for any company producing or selling fermented alcoholic beverages. In addition it would be of value to anyone who needs a contemporary introduction to the science and technology of alcoholic beverages. This authoritative volume provides an up-to-date, practical overview of fermented beverage production, focusing on concepts and processes pertinent to all fermented alcoholic beverages, as well as those specific to a variety of individual beverages. The second edition features three new chapters on sparkling wines, rums, and Latin American beverages such as tequila, as well as thorough updating of information on new technologies and current scientific references.